Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I wouldn't change a thing...it is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. However, Instead of adding the flour to water, what I do is I put 4 to 5 tablespoons of butter in a pan & add 4 to 5 tablespoons of flour to that. When it turns to a paste, then you add the stock slowly & whisk it. It's the best gravy you will ever have. No lumps or anything. It's fantastic!!!!! If you want more gravy just double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I roast my turkey on a bed of large chunks of carrots, onion and celery, as well as the neck bone and all the giblets(innards) and a few cups of chicken broth. When the turkey is done and out of the pan, I strain the vegetables and remove the fat from the drippigs. Then I simply put some of the liguid in the food processor with a few vegetables, the 'meat' I've removed from the neck bone and the rest of the giblets, adding more vegetables and liquid as necessary to make a thick but pourable paste. When all the giblets have been processed, I transfer that to a pan and slowly whisk in the remaining liquid plus a touch of Kitchen Bouquet for a nice rich color and bring it to a boil. This is NOT for the faint of heart who can't stand to think of those giblets let alone touch them and it is quite a messy job as well. BUT this is absolutely, hands down the most perfect rich thick tasty turkey gravy you will ever wrap your lips around. There is no need to add flour or seasonings or ANYTHING: you have it all there ready to be used. My Grandfather, who was a master chef, made it this way. But, of course, he didn't have the convenience of a food processor: he did it all with amazing knife skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Add a little or a lot of kick to your gravy(any gravy) by sprinkling in Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. Keep sprinkling and testing until it's to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I think any time you are using pan drippings the gravy tastes excellent. However, if you only use the flour amount called for, no way is it ever going to be thick. Use about 1.5 tablespoons of flour per cup of liquid. Also definitely don't forget to degrease the stock--putting it in the freeze for a few hours immediately works to bring the fat to the top if you are in a pinch for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Pretty good. Will make again. I'm not a gravy fan, so it's hard for me to rate it. Used cornstarch instead of flour, as well as turkey drippings, chicken stock and turkey stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This gravy was not good. I would not recommend it to a friend, and will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made the turkey stock myself out of the innards from the turkey and a couple turkey breast fillets I'd been hoarding in the freezer for just an occasion. I didn't add salt and I used celery powder instead of celery salt. (We're trying to watch our salt intake.) I also added a tablespoon of butter and sauteed half of a sweet onion when I got ready to pull the gravy together. Turned out great. And, for my husband who always raves about his dad's gravy... he said this was even better. And that's a heck of a compliment. This will be my new gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I used this recipe with the Giblet Gravy II recipe and it tasted great. I pureed the giblets so it would be chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Yummy gravy! I used chicken broth because that's all I had, and I used more thickener (corn starch) per another reviewer's advice. I also had no celery salt so I just thinly diced some fresh celery and boiled it along with the gravy. I made turkey breast cutlets, brown rice, and boiled carrots and poured the gravy over everything. The family ate every bite (even the one who hates boiled carrots)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States