Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Altered the recipe a lot so can't give it 5 stars. Used 1 can (equivalent of 2 cups) of chicken broth, 1/2 cup of pan drippings form the cornish hens I was preparing and used close to 1/2 cup flour to thicken and at serving time the gravy still was on the thin side. The flavor was great. Did follow the seasonings as given. This gave me about 2 1/2 -3 cups gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Fantastic gravy! My mom tasted this and said - "You really made this! It must have been hard" The only differences I made were to use the drippings from the turkey and supplement chicken broth because I didn't have turkey stock. Also left out the water and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was an easy way to make gravy and much better than packaged gravy. I used a hint from another review and melted butter, then added flour to form a smooth paste. Then I added the broth. While it thickened I added the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was good but we needed to add another 1/4 cup of flour to thicken it up. We had bourbon in our stuffing so to complement it we added some to this and took out some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
My family LOVED this gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used the stock recipe from this site "Awesome Turkey Giblet Stock" I also took 1 cup of the stock in place of water and chilled it and then added 1\4 cup cornstarch and combined these two in a glass jar and shake it until smooth..(no lumps).... towards the end I added nearly all the drippings from the turkey as well and this turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This gravy was great! Except it wasn't all that thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillymarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
After reading a few other reviews, I feel bad for giving the recipe 5 stars because I added pan drippings! I used this recipe because it got so many good reviews, but I wanted to use my pan drippings, so I did both! Of course, it turned out perfectly! I did have to add a little corn starch (about a tbsp or 2) to make the gravy a little thicker and I added 4 cups of chicken stock instead of the 5 because I added the drippings. My Stater Brothers didn't carry turkey stock (weird, huh?!) and I didn't want to go to another grocery store to get it, but the chicken stock was fine. Great and easy recipe and I will use it again next year! :) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was great! I used home made chicken stock, and after reading the reviews I used 6 tbsp of corn starch and the thickness was perfect. Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States