Savory Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Such a quick and easy recipe, not to mention really good. I added a tsp of herbes de provence (used it to season my turkey too) and the broth was very savory. I gave this five stars because it was easy (not a fan of poultry seasoning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I adjusted this recipe a lot bc it's just my boyfriend and I plus it seemed like it would be too watered down. I melted 2 tbsp of butter and stirred in 2 and a half tbsp of flour. Poured in 1 can of turkey broth ( 2 cups) and a touch of celery seed and pepper. stirring until thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe does not work. The gravy does not thicken. I think the proportions are wrong; I am not experienced with making gravy but I followed this exactly and was very disappointed with the watery consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was OK but I needed to increase the thickener. Although it had good turkey flavor, It still wasn't my mom's gravy. Her's would rate 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
hands down the best gravy ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a tip. Place frozen turkey parts in crock pot. Add chicken broth, ( NO WATER), seasonings of your choice. When meat is done,,remove from pot. Remove meat from bone after cooling. meanwhile,,,,The broth in the pot thicken with a butter and flour roux. Use over baked potatoes, rice, or noodles. Add meat from bone and simmer 20 minutes to add to topping of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I was finally able to really make gravy that looks and tastes like gravy! I used the mortons seasoned salt w/celery salt etc. it worked exceedingly well Thanks Ron M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was ok! I halved the recipe. I needed extra gravy to add to my two turkey pot pies. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
good gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
First time I ever made gravy and it was great! It was a great basic recipe that I used, along with some of the reviews -- I used half pan drippings and I made a roux with butter/ flour and then added the stock and drippings. Used the same spices the original recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States