Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I didnt think it was to bad myself.. I Took alot of the others reviews. My family didnt care for it.I Dont think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I seasoned the meat with garlic powder, salt and pepper. I used one can cream of chicken soup and one can cheddar soup. I did not include the vegetables in this recipe. It was a good recipe, and it would be easy to change up with different seasonings and soup mixes. I also made this with ground turkey meat, which I seasoned and cooked prior to putting in the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibDemJenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
At first I was a little weary about adding raw beef to the casserole, however that is what I did and with just a few more minutes than the recommended time the beef was perfectly fine. I did make a few alterations to my version of this casserole. Due to the reviews I did add a healthy amount of seasoning to my beef as well as 2 medium cloves of garlic mixed with the onion. Since I did not realize the recipe called for a 19 oz can of chicken soup I added a can of milk to the regular size can. I also added a light amount of butter to the layer of vegetables, added the tater tots, and baked for about an hour and 10 minutes. In the last 5 minutes I did add shredded cheddar cheese to the top of the tater tots as well. With these few modifications this recipe was definitely a keeper, even my picky husband really enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Husband raved about this recipe! I cooked the hamburger and onion beforehand. I did as a reviewer suggested and mixed together a can of cream of mushroom with a can of cheese soup. I also added shredded cheese on top! Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cameron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I didn't do anything but follow this recipie then read reviews which made me worry. I turned the heat up when it was half way done and it doesn't hurt to use a rack on the bottom. Remember to cover it so it won't burn. I added a personal touch five minutes befor it was done...I used garlic seasoning and mild chedder cheese over the tater tots when they were bubbly then coeked for the rest of the hour uncovered. This helped a lot and it was actually very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill S. Krahling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Good basic recipe but needs some jazzing up. I have made several times and these are the tweeks that made us all go YUM!!!Brown the hamburger with onion and garlic, use 1 can cheese soup and 1 can cream of mushroom (or cream of chicken), season the veggie/soup mix with some garlic and onion powder, Layer as directed but add a layer of cheddar cheese on top of the veggie layer and below the tot layer. Lightly season the tots with season'd salt. Serve wtih Franks Red Hot Sauce- oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is great on any day! I brown the beef first with garlic and onion. While that's browning, I mix the frozen veggies with a can of cream of mushroom, and a can of cream of celery. After draining the grease from the beef, I add it to the soups/veggies and stir all together. I then top with the tater tots, bake until the tots are a bit crispy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was good, but I will make adjustments with the recipe. Such as four cups of frozen vegies was a bit much. I think two to two and a half cups would be better for this recipe. And instead of the one can of 19 ounce can of cream of chicken, I will use two 10.5 ounce cans. It's just a couple more ounces, but do believe that will make a big difference. In all though, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My family absolutely loves this, I however, add some cheese and garlic for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltlpggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Pretty good - perfect for a cold New England night! I browned the hamburg with onion and garlic powder, and added frozen broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. Also sprinkled with a little cheddar cheese. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori B
Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States