Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Neither my husband nor I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I have never made tater tot casserole before, but I decided to try it for a quick and yummy dish! With some modifications this dish was delicious! Even my 21 month old twins loved it. I Cooked the meat with the onion, garlic, and a little bit of paprika. Then when I got to the soup layer I added a little bit more garlic powder and a little but of pepper. My family loves garlic so it made it tasty for us! Then I salted the tator tots just a little and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelsilvs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
KID FRIENDLY! This was good but I did add some seasonings to the browned meat. I also used a can of cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic and one can of cream of chicken soup. I used a 1 12 oz bag of mixed veggies which was about 2 cups and used crispy rounds instead of tater tots. It was just what I was looking for. I had something like this when I was a kid and had been wanting to make it for my girls, 3 and 1. Both girls loved it and I liked that it had veggies as opposed to other tater tot casseroles I have found. It was easy to make. I will deffinately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Used other reviewers advice and browned the meat with onion and some minced garlic before baking. I also used two cans french cut green beans, and two cans cream of mushroom soup. Instead of using mixed frozen veggiess and the cream of chicken. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is really a great recipe to take care of things in our freezer that need to be used! I substituted frozen meatballs for the meat, and added spices and Campbell's Cheddar Cheese and Creamy Mushroom soups, and also added milk and shredded cheddar as suggested by another review. Threw in some mixed veggies right before I topped it with the tater tots, and it was great! Speedy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great recipe! I used some of the reviewers suggestions and added the soup mix in with the pre-browned hamburger. This was very easy to make. I prepared the meat the night before so I wasn't in the kitchen the entire time my company was visiting. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Kick everything up a notch!!!!!!!!!!!! I originally got this recipe from the Duggars website. I knew when I looked at it, it needed seasoning etc. I added a layer of cheese on top of the broccoli( I decided not to use multiple veggies as it would get soggy). I also added shredded carrots and a dash of crumbled bacon that I had from the morning. After the layer of cheese I then added the tator tots. I used 3/4 of evaporated milk as well as cream of mushroom/cream of chicken soup. The next time I will use 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup- just a preference. I sauteed onions w/ garlic, onion powder and some seasoning salt. You can look at this recipe and know it needs some flavor and I am glad I kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I didnt think it was to bad myself.. I Took alot of the others reviews. My family didnt care for it.I Dont think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I seasoned the meat with garlic powder, salt and pepper. I used one can cream of chicken soup and one can cheddar soup. I did not include the vegetables in this recipe. It was a good recipe, and it would be easy to change up with different seasonings and soup mixes. I also made this with ground turkey meat, which I seasoned and cooked prior to putting in the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibDemJenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
At first I was a little weary about adding raw beef to the casserole, however that is what I did and with just a few more minutes than the recommended time the beef was perfectly fine. I did make a few alterations to my version of this casserole. Due to the reviews I did add a healthy amount of seasoning to my beef as well as 2 medium cloves of garlic mixed with the onion. Since I did not realize the recipe called for a 19 oz can of chicken soup I added a can of milk to the regular size can. I also added a light amount of butter to the layer of vegetables, added the tater tots, and baked for about an hour and 10 minutes. In the last 5 minutes I did add shredded cheddar cheese to the top of the tater tots as well. With these few modifications this recipe was definitely a keeper, even my picky husband really enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States