Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Not bad but I made lots of alterations. Browned the hamburger with the onion and a half a packet of onion soup mix. Drained, returned to pan and added a can of mushroom soup. Poured mixture into a 9x13 sprinkled w/ Parmesan. Added a layer of frozen french cut green beans and sprinkled a cup of cheddar on top of that. Put the frozen taters on top of that and sprinkled with another cup of cheddar. Mixed another can of mushroom soup (10 oz.) with a few tablespoons of milk and poured over tots. Sprinkled ANOTHER cup of cheddar on top. Baked covered for the first 30 and uncovered the remaining time. It was pretty good but still seems like it's missing something! Next time I will add fresh mushrooms and scale back the cheese. (Only by one layer.) Maybe add a few shakes of A1 to the meat mixture.. great recipe to start with and make your own :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is a great dish but I cook the meat with onions, little garlic, and celery salt. I use cream of mushroom. Once its done I leave a bowl of sharp cheddar because my husband love this dish with cheese! OH and my family hunts so I use our ground deer meet instead of cow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I tried this for a Church function, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissajo47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Love this quick, easy dish. There is no need to cook the ground beef prior to baking. I've made this dish several times and the meat is always cooked after the directed time. I do add additional seasoning to the meat, use cream of mushroom soup (26oz can) and add shredded cheese on top! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Mushroom soup I find is a better choice than the chicken soup. I also mix in a green pepper as well. And like everyone says, brown the meat a bit first to get rid of some of the grease, unless of course your buying extremely lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
so easy to prepare this will be my go to meal on a busy night very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
awesome thanks for sharing.. I use to have a recipe like this that had Italian sweet sausage so I added that. but other wise I followed it to a T though I was in a hurry and cooked it all before putting in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELDOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Vernonia, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I browned the beef with the onions first, then I mixed in cream of mushroom soup instead. This is a good, quick recipe that I can put together in no time. My family loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this as is the first time and it was good, just lacked a little flare for my family. Then I did a twist and added a can of vegetarian chili and a can of corn instead of the frozen veggies and topped the tots with cheddar. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
needs more spice, add onion soup mix an make w/mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States