Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I liked it...wife didn't care for it much...who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Great idea, but a few additions make it even more tasty! I used vension, which I browned with garlic, celery, 2 cans mushrooms and 1 onion. I added a beef boullion cube and corn starch, which turned it into a tasty gravy. Then, I added frozen peas and let that simmer for about 20 min. After that I followed the given directions, only cooking it for 40 minutes- the whole hour would have made the tater tots more crispy and nice, so that's what I'll do next time. Great comfort food, my boyfriend loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I was very pleased with this recipe. I don't like veggies and it was very tasty in this recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Yuck. I wanted the creamy, comfort food that my mom used to make and this was just layered bland beef (even with the onion and red pepper I added), vegetables and tator tots....won't make again. If I attempted again I would use more soup, cheddar cheese in the soup and mix the veggies, browned beef all together, then put the tator tots on top and add more soup and cheese. Not healthy, but much more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is an okay basic recipe, but I browned the ground beef first, then mixed in 1/2 envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and 2 medium cloves of minced garlic (I am a garlic lover). I put the beef mixture in the bottom of the dish, then layered canned French cut green beans and canned corn (both drained thoroughly). I can't stand cream of chicken soup, so I mixed a can of cream of mushroom with a can of cheddar cheese soup and poured half the mixture over the meat and veggies. Then I added the tater tots on top and spread the remaining soup mixture over that and baked. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
WONDERFUL!! I made it for my baby boomer parents and they ate not just seconds, but thirds! I didn't have cream of chicken soup so I used cream of mushroom instead. It was super easy to make. I made it the night before and put it in the fridge. A very simple comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I HAVE to give this a five because my bf loved it so much...I couldn't eat that much of it because it seemed too rich. The only thing different that I did was omitted the beef (we're a vegetarian family). Will definately make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by music_unites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chipley, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
My family LOVES this!!! I always make it in a 10x13 baking dish and then the ground beef cooks through perfect. This is an excellent dish to take to a potluck dinner, and someone always asks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Good basic recipe that was different than my regular version of tater tot casserole. There was no way you could convince to to layer the uncooked beef in my casserole dish so I browned it first with onions and minced garlic. I used a pkg of mixed veggies that included carrots, corn and grn bean, followed by a layer of sharp cheddar cheese. I needed a little milk to make the cream of chix soup to work a little better but I poured about 1/3 of my "soup mix" over the hamburger, then layered the tater tots, and then the remaining soup mix over all. I baked 1/2 time covered and then another 35-40 minuted uncovered and it turned out really well. When your tired of your tater tot recipe - try this one. Its not drastically different but its still a filling and tasty homecooked meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I browned the beef and onions together. Added a bit of garlic salt and lawry's seasoning salt. I substituted cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chix soup. Mixed everything up, added some mild cheddar on top before adding the tater tots. It turned out awesome! Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States