Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I was really excited about this recipe, but rather dissapointed with the end results. The casserole was decent, but the flavor was rather bland. I think it really needs some spice (perhaps salt & pepper) and some type of cheese in it. My husband suggested that I try it again next time with tomato soup in place of the cream of chicken, which I might do. Otherwise, I probably wouldn't make this one again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Virginia, USA
Living In: Radford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Great comfort food. My husband and kids all enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Blah, boring! What else is there to say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I love this casserole, My mom used to make it all the time. But my mom put cream of mushroom soup in it, and my husband doesn't like cream of mushroom soup. (of course I love it!) maybe he would like the cream of chicken soup with it instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it wasn't this! Very bland. A good amount of seasoning should be mixed through the meat before putting it in bottom of dish. Also it took well over an hour to cook, and still the Tots were very soft, so I stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes. That did the trick. Probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYCOOK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Excellent! I substituted Krumbles (soy meat) for the beef, and it was fine. This dish doesn't pretend to be fancy, and it isn't; that's the appeal! It is merely hearty, tasty, stick-to-your-ribs fare, that was a SNAP to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I used AUTUMNDELIGHTS suggestions and then melted a little cheddar cheese on top. It was very heavy. We used 2 10.75 oz cans of soup, but my husband and I still thought it needed more sauce. Next time I'll cut back on the meat a little, add a lot more veggies, and extra soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Looks like it would be good, but after one hour @ 375, hamberger was raw. Raise the temp and cooked for longer. An hour just dosen't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I was craving a tater tot casserole, but this was not it. The meat did not cook fully in the time listed, tots were not done, all over yuck. I was disapointed, but that happens sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Needs something--it was a little bland. Not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States