Savory Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Needs something--it was a little bland. Not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
My picky kids really liked this! I browned the beef with seasoning, garlic & onion, then used cheese soup mixed with some milk, topped with shredded cheese. I also used canned green beans, corn & carrots, as my kids hate frozen vegetables. My boys said this was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This was fast and delicious! I took others suggestions and cooked the meat with onions ahead of time, and used cream of mushroom. Even as leftovers it was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I made this on Monday night, but added in some spices as I thought it needed a little more of a kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMAZIONSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I liked it...wife didn't care for it much...who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Great idea, but a few additions make it even more tasty! I used vension, which I browned with garlic, celery, 2 cans mushrooms and 1 onion. I added a beef boullion cube and corn starch, which turned it into a tasty gravy. Then, I added frozen peas and let that simmer for about 20 min. After that I followed the given directions, only cooking it for 40 minutes- the whole hour would have made the tater tots more crispy and nice, so that's what I'll do next time. Great comfort food, my boyfriend loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I was very pleased with this recipe. I don't like veggies and it was very tasty in this recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Yuck. I wanted the creamy, comfort food that my mom used to make and this was just layered bland beef (even with the onion and red pepper I added), vegetables and tator tots....won't make again. If I attempted again I would use more soup, cheddar cheese in the soup and mix the veggies, browned beef all together, then put the tator tots on top and add more soup and cheese. Not healthy, but much more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is an okay basic recipe, but I browned the ground beef first, then mixed in 1/2 envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and 2 medium cloves of minced garlic (I am a garlic lover). I put the beef mixture in the bottom of the dish, then layered canned French cut green beans and canned corn (both drained thoroughly). I can't stand cream of chicken soup, so I mixed a can of cream of mushroom with a can of cheddar cheese soup and poured half the mixture over the meat and veggies. Then I added the tater tots on top and spread the remaining soup mixture over that and baked. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
WONDERFUL!! I made it for my baby boomer parents and they ate not just seconds, but thirds! I didn't have cream of chicken soup so I used cream of mushroom instead. It was super easy to make. I made it the night before and put it in the fridge. A very simple comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States