Savory TMT Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I served this at my daughter's fifth birthday party as little tea sandwiches on homemade bread. All the moms asked for the recipe. I sauteed the carrots and onions in olive oil first, because I have trouble digesting raw onions. I skipped pressing the tofu, just cubed it ahead of time and let it dry out on the counter for about a half hour, then used a potato masher to crumble it. I also skipped the seeds. The next time I made it I used just the tofu, miso, and tahini and made it smooth in the food processor to use as a dip for raw veggies. I added some onion powder and nutritional yeast and balsamic vinegar to replace the vegetables, and it was very tasty change of pace from hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is really good. And I agree, much better the second day. I used red miso, toasted sesame seeds instead of sunflower seeds, and pretty much doubled the carrots. I am not vegetarian, but this is quite tasty. It is pretty salty though. Very good on whole wheat toast with sliced tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Hi, I'm the person who submitted this recipe many moons ago. I am somewhat shocked at the sodium content at six servings, and have to advise that I think the recipe really makes 10-12 servings rather than 6, and even more servings when calculated using children's portions. I still love this recipe and eat it often, and just stumbled across it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I get tired of the egglass salad recipe and was so happy to find this. It is very good, though I used yellow miso because it's all I had, and added celery instead of the sunflower seeds. I made it for people who wanted to try tofu but didn't know what to do with it. They ate all of it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Oh, this is so good! I used red miso and no onion because of my husband but otherwise no changes. I'm not a vegetarian, just trying to get more soy and healthier protein. I highly recommend this to anyone trying to cut meat consumption as it is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
The ingredients in this didn't sound so good, but boy once it was assembled, it tasted GREAT!! I used about 1 c. grated carrot and red miso, and liked it even better. My one year old son loves it too!! What could be better, tasty and vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Absolutely delicious on whole wheat toast! My 15 month old son loves it and gets excited when I ask if he wants TMT for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Prep time is actually about 30 minutes, because th tofu should be pressed, but the spread is delicious! I tried with some red peppers on whote wheat toast and it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I thought this turned out to be a little too salty for my taste. I would recommend using very sweet onions and adding celery. I eat it on bread with tomatoes and cucumbers. Also, it makes a lot, so halfing the recipe is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I needed to amend my first review. I rated this 3 cards the first time, but after letting the flavors blend overnight I would give it a 4. It was fantastic the second day--much better than the day it was made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States