Savory Stuffed Chicken Breast with Plum Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is an edit to my previous review - this recipe has been very well received by everyone who has eaten it. I have made it with peach jam which was too sweet and finally found the plum jam - which was worth looking for - it really made the recipe. I have made it according to the directs, and I have made it as a layered casserole when I felt that stuffing the chicken would be to time intensive. It adapts well to a cardiac diet by using low fat/salt plain cornbread and turkey bacon. I stand by my recommendation that you use a savory cornbread - not a sweet cornbread for the stuffing. Overall a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Wow! This dish was AMAZING! I made it for my parents' Anniversary party a few weeks back and it was such a hit! I put salt and pepper on the breasts before browning them, and added the garlic to the stuffing as suggested below. I think the plum jam really makes it, so I highly recommend it if you can find it. I just got it in the regular grocery store by the regular jam, but you might also try the Asian food isle. But here is a yummy update! For Thanksgiving, try using turkey breasts instead of chicken, and cranberry preserves instead of plum jam – I did this last night and it was very very good – if you are just having a small Thanksgiving dinner for 2 or 4, why cook a whole bird? Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Easy, Delicious, & Quick! A nice twist on chicken! Substituted the butter for olive oil...to the stuffing added half a minced clove of garlic and a tablespoon of minced fresh Italian parsley. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was super easy to make and very yummy. I did substitute apricot preserves for plum jam since we didn't have any in the house and I think it tasted great. I'll have to pick up some plum jam for the next time to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Yum! I liked the idea of having a cornbread stuffed chicken and the stuffing is delicious. But the addition of the glaze overtop made this extra tasty. I did subsitute apricot jam for the plum and it was a great combo with the cornbread. My hubby said "definitely make this one again!". One comment, the glaze took about 10 mintues to cook down so plan ahead to have it ready for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made this for a friend who is allergic to corn, so instead of cornmeal, I used plain cooked couscous. It was fabulous. Next time I think I will try rice stuffing for a different take on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was incredibly delicious and very easy! My family was very impressed with the meal. Looking forward to changing things up with different jams/sauces. For this, I used a Plum Sauce I found in the Asian food aisle, as Plum Jam is out of season, and I'm sure it was just fine, because the final dish was absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JinxieWinxie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Simple and so very delicious. I added 1/4 tsp. of dried thyme to the stuffing and stuffed the chicken prior to browning, then finished in the oven. This is a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanelli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookn&Eatn
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Okay so the only reason why the recipe got 4 out of 5 stars is b/c 1. I could not find plum jelly in my grocery store so I used tart cherry jelly mixed with orange marmalade...and 2. I don't like celery so I used celery seed. My boyfriend loved loved loved the stuffed chicken but he didn't have any of the sauce. I thought that it was okay... next time I will purchase boxed cornbread stuffing. I purchased already made cornbread and it was too sweet which clashed w/ the sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookn&Eatn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suitland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This recipe is amazing. plan and simple. I did not have any cellery, so I chopped up a little green bell pepper and it turned out wonderfully. I added a clove of fresh garlic, and one thing that I did do is i doubled the glaze. It made a wonderful sauce to have the chicken in and it made the chicken so moist. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States