Savory Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
This is excellent! Here is what I did- I softened the cream cheese in the microwave for about 30 seconds before mixing it with the milk using a mixer. I did press all the water out of the spinach, but then mixed the spinach into the cream cheese mixture with a spoon until all the spinach was coated and mixed with it. Then I put it in the casserole dish. I also increased the Parmesan cheese to 1/2 cup instead of 1/3rd, and used block parmesan cheese and grated it myself. This was delicious! Even the Firefighters at my husbands work loved it. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Really tasty! I did, however make some changes. I sauted about 1/2 cup yellow onion with 2 tblsp butter. I then added the spinach to that, and let cook a few mins. I added the cream cheese and stired untill it was all melted and distributed. I then added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and the milk. I stired in about 1/2 cup a grated cheddar. I then spred it in the baking dish, and sprinkled the parmesan cheese over the top. I let it sit in the fridge untill I was ready to cook it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I love veggie and cream cheese casseroles, and this one is no exception. I do want to offer one bit of advice. Make sure you use real cream cheese or 1/3 fat Neufchatel cheese. I made the mistake of using garlic and herb whipped "cream cheese" since so many reviews suggested adding onion and garlic. I thought I was being so smart LOL. But it just doesn't taste the same. All that whipped milk and whey protien doesn't have the bite that real cream cheese has. It's much better to use the real thing and add your own spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Very good! I seemed to like it more than our dinner guests, but then again I love spinach. Recipe didn't say whether to drain and squeeze out excess water for spinach, but I recommend doing so. Also, I used 1/4 cup half-n-half in place of the milk for creamier texture. Also I mixed spinach and cream mixture all together before putting into oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I have made this dish many times now and have always been asked to make it again. My family loves it. Once I said I wasn't going to make it and I thought I would get banned from the family get together. Needless to say I made it for them and will continue at every family dinner. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Wonderful! I, like other reviewers, added sauteed onions and garlic and mixed spinach into the cream cheese mixture along with half the parmesan. Topped with the other half and both my husband and I were amazed how good this made frozen spinach taste. Perhaps chopped water chestnuts would add even more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was great. I did increase the parmesean cheese to 1/2 cup and melted the cream cheese in the microwave as suggested by other reviewers. I also sprinkled the top with some grated gruyer cheese and it was a big hit.I will definitely make this one again and again and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Every one loved this dish. My kids 8 and 11 both thought it was great and my husband is already planning for me to make it for the holidays. I took the advice of some reviews and made a few changes. First I sauteed half and onion in real butter with about 2 tablespoons of bacon bits, then added the spinach and about a clove of minced garlic and cooked it for a few minutes. Then I added the cream cheese and milk and cooked until the cream cheese was melted and mixed in. Then I put it in the casserole dish and topped it with the paremesan cheese. I put it in the fridge until till dinner then just popped it in the oven. It was soo good. Thanks for sharing! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I followed Islandmama's suggestions and zapped the cream cheese for 30 seconds, increased the parmesan and mixed it all together. This is absolutely wonderful and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
A tasty, simple side dish. I took the advice of other reviewers and microwaved the cream cheese for 30 seconds before mixing it with the milk. I also mixed the cream cheese mixture right in with the spinach, then topped with grated Parmesan. You should definitly thaw and squeeze the excess moisture out of the spinach. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States