Savory Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
I'm afraid we didn't care much for this recipe. I thought the cream cheese would melt down into the spinach, but it remained in a thick layer on top while the spinach below stayed dry. I had pressed the water out of the spinach after I thawed it. Maybe I wasn't supposed to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
This is excellent! Here is what I did- I softened the cream cheese in the microwave for about 30 seconds before mixing it with the milk using a mixer. I did press all the water out of the spinach, but then mixed the spinach into the cream cheese mixture with a spoon until all the spinach was coated and mixed with it. Then I put it in the casserole dish. I also increased the Parmesan cheese to 1/2 cup instead of 1/3rd, and used block parmesan cheese and grated it myself. This was delicious! Even the Firefighters at my husbands work loved it. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I followed Islandmama's suggestions and zapped the cream cheese for 30 seconds, increased the parmesan and mixed it all together. This is absolutely wonderful and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I have made this dish many times now and have always been asked to make it again. My family loves it. Once I said I wasn't going to make it and I thought I would get banned from the family get together. Needless to say I made it for them and will continue at every family dinner. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was great. I did increase the parmesean cheese to 1/2 cup and melted the cream cheese in the microwave as suggested by other reviewers. I also sprinkled the top with some grated gruyer cheese and it was a big hit.I will definitely make this one again and again and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Very good! I seemed to like it more than our dinner guests, but then again I love spinach. Recipe didn't say whether to drain and squeeze out excess water for spinach, but I recommend doing so. Also, I used 1/4 cup half-n-half in place of the milk for creamier texture. Also I mixed spinach and cream mixture all together before putting into oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I took a shot at making this casserole for an office potluck. It was a MARVELOUS change from the everyday green bean casserole, or broccoli cheese casserole. I did squeeze the water as the other reviewers suggested, and I did mix the cream cheese and the spinach first. We are making it for Christmas dinner, we loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for Christmas and everybody loved it and asked what was in it. I am not crazy about spinach but I really liked this one. I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the spinach into the cheese mixture. I also added a half of a can of cream of mushroom soup and about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder just to give it a little extra flavor. Very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe I have never liked spinach and now I can't get enough of it. A friend of mine gave me this recipe a while back with the exception of the one she I have been using calls for 8 oz of sour cream and no milk and it is really good that way also. I didn't have any sour cream and I was looking for another recipe when I came across this one using cream cheese. Both very good. So if you find yourself short cream cheese it taste great with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I made this for easter brunch. Went over very well. I didn't have any cream cheese so I used sour cream & about 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also added in some dices onions for a different texture. Super easy & super quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States