Savory Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
This is excellent! Here is what I did- I softened the cream cheese in the microwave for about 30 seconds before mixing it with the milk using a mixer. I did press all the water out of the spinach, but then mixed the spinach into the cream cheese mixture with a spoon until all the spinach was coated and mixed with it. Then I put it in the casserole dish. I also increased the Parmesan cheese to 1/2 cup instead of 1/3rd, and used block parmesan cheese and grated it myself. This was delicious! Even the Firefighters at my husbands work loved it. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Really tasty! I did, however make some changes. I sauted about 1/2 cup yellow onion with 2 tblsp butter. I then added the spinach to that, and let cook a few mins. I added the cream cheese and stired untill it was all melted and distributed. I then added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and the milk. I stired in about 1/2 cup a grated cheddar. I then spred it in the baking dish, and sprinkled the parmesan cheese over the top. I let it sit in the fridge untill I was ready to cook it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I followed Islandmama's suggestions and zapped the cream cheese for 30 seconds, increased the parmesan and mixed it all together. This is absolutely wonderful and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Wonderful! I, like other reviewers, added sauteed onions and garlic and mixed spinach into the cream cheese mixture along with half the parmesan. Topped with the other half and both my husband and I were amazed how good this made frozen spinach taste. Perhaps chopped water chestnuts would add even more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This is a yummy side dish! It is so easy to make. I mixed the milk, cream cheese, and parmesean together and added the spinach to the mixture last. It turned out great. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I took a shot at making this casserole for an office potluck. It was a MARVELOUS change from the everyday green bean casserole, or broccoli cheese casserole. I did squeeze the water as the other reviewers suggested, and I did mix the cream cheese and the spinach first. We are making it for Christmas dinner, we loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for Christmas and everybody loved it and asked what was in it. I am not crazy about spinach but I really liked this one. I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the spinach into the cheese mixture. I also added a half of a can of cream of mushroom soup and about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder just to give it a little extra flavor. Very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe I have never liked spinach and now I can't get enough of it. A friend of mine gave me this recipe a while back with the exception of the one she I have been using calls for 8 oz of sour cream and no milk and it is really good that way also. I didn't have any sour cream and I was looking for another recipe when I came across this one using cream cheese. Both very good. So if you find yourself short cream cheese it taste great with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Very good, my husband even liked it and he doesn't usually like spinach. thanks for easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
this recipe is wonderful. i made it for the first time at a family gathering . i did take some advice from other cookers. i first cooked 3 packages of frozen spinach,also added in cooked onions. microwaved creme cheese till soft. added a half of can of mushroom soup. and garlic to my taste. then i added a half of cup of parmesian cheese. i mixed all ingredents together , then topped with more parmesian. this is DELICIOUS!!! it was a hit at the dinner. thank you for such a wonderful easy casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States