Savory Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Very easy, but only so-so. I think it could have been creamier. Might use half-and-half next time as another reviewer suggested. I did add nutmeg which was a tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wagner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is delicious, but I altered it substantially. I blended lite tofu and fat free cottage cheese together with some pesto, and subbed this for cream cheese. It works like a charm and is low cal, low fat and super high protein. Also threw in some finely chopped orange and yellow bell pepper, a clove of garlic and 1/4 cup shredded white cheddar. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make but it tasted just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This dish was great! I did tweak it a bit to make it a one dish meal. I added half box cooked shell pasta and bite size pieces of smoked sausage. My family loved it, including my very picky daughters. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Most of what other reviewers said is true: spinach must be cooked and drained before, or the cooking time is way too short. It is too short even if you do it with cooked and drained spinach... it's less a casserole than I expected, more a dip, but the taste is good, my hubby and one of my kids proclaimed it good, the other wouldn't touch it for the world, said it is "slimy". All in all, I'll do it again, perhaps with mozzarella/provolone just to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
except for the baby artichoke hearts and some additional milk,this is the same recipe we use at home for hot spinach dip.never tried it as a casserole though and it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedthecrowd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Not the results I expected. Bland and gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was much more of a hit than I expected. Everyone loved it, including my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very good. Even my 6 year old who hates "all that is green and healthy" loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The2K'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I love veggie and cream cheese casseroles, and this one is no exception. I do want to offer one bit of advice. Make sure you use real cream cheese or 1/3 fat Neufchatel cheese. I made the mistake of using garlic and herb whipped "cream cheese" since so many reviews suggested adding onion and garlic. I thought I was being so smart LOL. But it just doesn't taste the same. All that whipped milk and whey protien doesn't have the bite that real cream cheese has. It's much better to use the real thing and add your own spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States