Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
loved this recipe very easy to make I followed the advice on one review and put the squash in first then the rest on top cooked on high for 3 hours only otherwise would get mushy. used Gala apples holds shape better not mushy. added 1/2 cup maple syrup over top when ready to eat then mixed all together. everyone loved it at the supper table said it was more like a dessert, sweet taste. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Thanks to all the reviews that commented to make sure & cut the squash pieces smaller & the apple in large chunks. As a family that's only started eating squash in the last 6 months or so, we've been trying a variety of ways to eat squash & this is one of our favorites. Using different types of apples brings out different flavors & my kids love that it doesn't have a mushy/sticky consistency like some recipes using squash get if they are cooked too long. Another way to entice kiddos is to drizzle a little maple syrup over it when serving. Great recipe that made me more of a fan of squash than I had been before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a small piece of ginger and galangal (a ginger relative), walnuts and a bit of crushed cloves. Cooked it for the full four hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fair. My crockpot cooks rather quickly, so on high it took only about 2.5-3 hrs. Mine is also old-school, so I couldn't fit the requisite amount of ingredients and had to guess at the proportions I was adding. I used yellow onion and thought it was overpowering. I recommend sauteeing the onions first for a more consistent texture, otherwise, it's crunchy onions with mushy squash and apples. Mine looks nothing like the picture and the sqaush ended up with a stringy texture. Not sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
We almost liked this recipe. With a few changes I think it would be good. Start by reducing the cinnamon A LOT! Maybe only 1/2 tsp and reduce the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. Then it would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We thought this tasted pretty good. It was kind of a strange combination but ended up tasting great. A great way to use up some squash and apples that I needed to use up. Also pretty healthy. Which is a good thing! I did not add the onion. I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I would give this 4 stars for ease and tastieness, and 2 for appearance. I think the recipe as stated is wrong. Mine was done in half the time... everything got mushy because of this. Next time I will keep it on low the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The savory flavors did not come through all that well. If I made it again, I would add some thyme and rosemary to bring them out. Otherwise, I would add some brown sugar or currant jelly to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Fearing the dryness other reviewers experienced, i splashed some apple cider in mine. Also, i didn't have any dried cranberries on hand, so i used some fresh ones i had leftover from another recipe. It was a brown, mushy mess, but it was really tasty! It made my house smell absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
3 hours was a little too long to cook. Came out a bit mushy. Tasted good and made my apartment smell amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States