Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Flavor was good...got a little mushy, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed recipe exactly using granny smith apples and leaving out the onion, Very good and loved the way it made the kitchen smell. Also it is vegan so could be enjoyed by all family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My grandkids ate it before they knew it had squash! It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used frozen butternut squash, also thought is was rather bland. I added butter, brown sugar & a little maply syrup after it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I was hesitant about making this for Thanksgiving, but it turned out very well. It was well received by everyone, even my fussy eaters. I used Honeycrisp apples and put the squash on the bottom layer as suggested by others, cutting the squash smaller than the apples. I didn't stir until the end. The texture was just fine, with everything holding its shape. I left out the optional onions. I'm glad I tried this. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved this! I did not use cranberries and I added 1-1/2 ts of fresh chopped ginger, 1/4 ts ground cloves, and I used granny smith apples. I'm not use to sweet things and I thought it great, but my family who eat a lot of sugar were not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought this would be a healthy side-dish for Thanksgiving, but this is very mushy and the flavor is not great. It was rather dry, so I added 1/2 c. vegetable stock like another reviewer mentioned. This did not save the recipe. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
A little dry, but very easy to make and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This smelled fantastic, and tasted alright, but I was not overly impressed and warmed up leftovers had a texture that left much to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe and don't know what I did wrong, but this dish turned out so bitter. Disappointing ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States