Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The kind of recipe I like. It is simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EARLRWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
it was good, but I think it would have been better if I had cooked it for less time--probably because I halved the recipe and cooked it in my small cooker. It was great to have the squash and apples combined. I think less cook time and sprinkle with candied pecans would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was really good. I added about 1/3 can of whole berry cranberry sauce and a little salt. We had it with baked ham. I used golden delicious apples. The apple got done a lot sooner than the squash. Next time I will try to choose an apple that holds it shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was skeptical about serving this dish for part of our Christmas dinner since I had never made it before, but I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, it turned out to be my favorite part of the meal. The only thing that I did differently was I only cooked it on high for about three hours, and then turned it down to low until we were ready to eat. I think if I had left it on high the whole time the squash would have been too mushy. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was alright. The squash and the apple mixed together beautifully and really complimented Christmas dinner...Something wasn't quite right about it though. If I make it again, I will probably try it without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettybelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Mine was done in 3 hours. It smelled heavenly as it cooked. I also added some maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and a little melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Easy, flavorful side dish. Next time, I will add a full cup of dried cranberries. This dish was a great addition to our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I agree that something was not quite right about this recipe. It smelled wonderful while it was cooking but the apples were mushy and the squash was too firm. After the 4 hour cook time I decided to add some apple juice to the crockpot to try to steam the squash a bit. The flavor was not bad but the texture was off. I think it's the first time I've made anything in the crockpot without liquid. My family and friends said they liked it, but I think they were just being polite since it was the only menu item I made that I still have a tub of leftovers of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Tried this one for Christmas. It sounds delicious. I thought the spices overpowered the squash too much. Next time, I would decrease the amount of nutmeg and possibly add more aquash and less apple to the dish to make it more about the aquash. A guest said it smelled and tasted like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe sounded good with this combo of ingredients, but it wasn't good at all. The only thing I did differently was to add 1/2 cup apple juice hoping that that would help steam the squash a bit more since other reviewers had noted that the squash was still not cooked after the 4 hour cook time listed in the recipe. And I had the same results - not done after 4 hours, or 5 or 6 or 7. I ended up cooking this 8 hours until the squash was done. And in the end, we didn't like it. The soft texture of the apple chunks (and I used Granny Smith) with the still somewhat firm texture of the squash chunks wasn't appealing. So for the leftovers, I tried mashing it with milk and butter. It was more appetizing, but still not good. The rest got thrown in the trash. Such a waste of time and money. I gave this a 3 only because it was easy to make and the apple part was good. It was the squash part that made this a unappetizing (and I love squash by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States