Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
my slow cooker must be really strong, because I cooked this for 3 hours on high and it just made a big mush. Very tasty mush, but I felt like pureeing it, because it was already at that state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Put it in a small crockpot, squash only first. the plan was high for one hour, low for two, put apples in for the last hour. Well, the squash was done before I put the apples in. Didn't use onions, used only two apples (braebean), put a little butter in...wish i put some kind of liquid in..kind of dry, overall turned out pretty good. My father in law really liked it and commented more than once about how flavorful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
One squash and 4 apples is teetering on overflowing my smaller crock pot, but I sat on the lid :) I love the smells. I am a bit concerned there is no liquid added... but I am following the recipe as written. I can't wait to taste this. The weather is rainy - this should be perfect! so far I'm giving it 4 stars The dish is very close to tasting like applesauce. That is not a bad thing, but I was looking forward to a more savory taste. My concern about liquid was not needed the dish created it's own. Hubby really likes the dish. Anyone think adding salt or sage or celery seed will enhance a savory touch? I think I would cut back on the apple, I used fuji's - 4 big ones. Very dominant flavor. Love the cranberry tartness. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeffysMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was AMAZING! The only thing I changed was I added golden, regular, and red raisins as well as sprinkled a little brown sugar on top:) Oh and I also used 1 small shallot chopped very fine instead of an onion because my boyfriend hates onions. I highly recomend this one! I will be making it for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Spreckels, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wonderful and easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good. What a great hearty meal. I made this along with a ground turkey meatloaf, and my one year old ate it right up! I didn't have enough cinnamon on hand so I did add just a little ground cloves to the mix...I think it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yummy fall side dish! I did make a few small changes. I omitted the onion and added 2 tablespoons honey instead. I cooked everything without the apples for about 6 hours on low. I then added the apples for an additional 2 hours on low. It was delicious and the squash and apples were evenly consistent in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Tibbetts Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this recipe with a few mods. Dusted the squash, apple onion, mixture with 2T of flour. Added half of that to the slow cooker. Sprinkled cranberries on top along with some shredded cheddar cheese, and in hindsight, I think I will totally leave the cheese out next time, as I didn't taste it. Layered the rest of the squash mixture on top, and finally poured 1cup of veggie stock over entire mixture. Let it cook for 4 hours, and when it was done, dug right in. Served over a thick slice of sweet portuguese bread, my 8 year old was hopping in his seat, saying it was a dinner dessert explosion in his mouth. My 1 year old got rid of her spoon, and opted to feed herself with her hands. A winner, and a repeatable recipe, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Easy and everyone loved it! Great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Been eating these leftovers for 2 days now as lunch all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States