Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We thought this tasted pretty good. It was kind of a strange combination but ended up tasting great. A great way to use up some squash and apples that I needed to use up. Also pretty healthy. Which is a good thing! I did not add the onion. I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I would give this 4 stars for ease and tastieness, and 2 for appearance. I think the recipe as stated is wrong. Mine was done in half the time... everything got mushy because of this. Next time I will keep it on low the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The savory flavors did not come through all that well. If I made it again, I would add some thyme and rosemary to bring them out. Otherwise, I would add some brown sugar or currant jelly to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Fearing the dryness other reviewers experienced, i splashed some apple cider in mine. Also, i didn't have any dried cranberries on hand, so i used some fresh ones i had leftover from another recipe. It was a brown, mushy mess, but it was really tasty! It made my house smell absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
3 hours was a little too long to cook. Came out a bit mushy. Tasted good and made my apartment smell amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Just okay. Not the "wow" dish for Thanksgiving I was hoping for. Very easy to prepare. And I loved that it used the slow cooker. That part was convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I steamed the butternut squash for a bit first to try - and used the slow cooker for only 2.5 hours to avoid the mushy apple problem. It was tasty but even this didn't solve the mushy apple problem. I won't make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Sorry, didn't care for at all. Apples just didn't seem to go with squash! Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Added some salt & pepper, brown sugar & a little butter and it was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was ok. The spices were very over powering and it seemed like it was missing something. Mine was ready in 3 hours and I added maple syrup after tasting it. I'm glad I tried it but I probably won't make it again. If I do, I'll add more cranberries and leave out the spices all together and put in a little maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States