Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! I could eat it as a dessert and not a side and not feel like I'm missing out. A clean alternative to apple pie! After just 2.5 hours, it did get mushy. I also omitted the onions. As if the dish wasn't yummy enough, I loved the way my apartment smelled while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
smelled great but no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this today for Thxgiving Dinner. The apples were mushy by 3 hours on high. I plan to cook the squash/ cranberries for a good hour and a half prior to adding the apples next time I make it. I added 2 tbsp of honey and found the taste pleasantly sweet. And yes the onions were omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
mushy and shapeless side dish. I gave up on serving it as a side dish, and pureed it into a good soup however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made the recipe as printed, and it got even better with each day. I liked the chunks of squash & cranberries surrounded by apple sauce sweetness. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Flavor was good...got a little mushy, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed recipe exactly using granny smith apples and leaving out the onion, Very good and loved the way it made the kitchen smell. Also it is vegan so could be enjoyed by all family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My grandkids ate it before they knew it had squash! It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used frozen butternut squash, also thought is was rather bland. I added butter, brown sugar & a little maply syrup after it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I was hesitant about making this for Thanksgiving, but it turned out very well. It was well received by everyone, even my fussy eaters. I used Honeycrisp apples and put the squash on the bottom layer as suggested by others, cutting the squash smaller than the apples. I didn't stir until the end. The texture was just fine, with everything holding its shape. I left out the optional onions. I'm glad I tried this. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States