Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this as a side dish for Christmas. It was easy to make and tasted great but...you really only need a little on a plate. It reminds me of a side of cranberry for thanksgiving. Taste is sweet. I followed the recipe and did not change a thing. I did let it set and only mixed it the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I didn't care for it, but that just may be my own personal tastebuds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICRE8ARCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this for the first time tonight, with some adjustments and it was AMAZING!I will definitely be making this again and again! I omitted the onion, placed the squash in the bottom of the crockpot drizzled it with organic honey a tablespoon of cinnamon and a 1/2 tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice. I used Fuji apples instead and left the skin on, after I put those in the crockpot I duplicated what I had done previously with the honey and spices, finally I topped it with chopped dates and let it cook on high for roughly 3 hours. After mixing it I let it cook on low for another hour. Like I said AMAZING! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
As written, I'd give it 3 stars, but with a little tweaking, it's a 4 1/2. As written, it was WAY too much cinnamon and nutmeg. I use about half and it's perfect. I also like to make it a little heavier on the apples. My apples always get a little mushy, but I don't mind that - makes it applesauce-ish for the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This stuff turned to mush in 4 hrs in my crock pot. Maybe there's someting wrong with my crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious! I could eat it as a dessert and not a side and not feel like I'm missing out. A clean alternative to apple pie! After just 2.5 hours, it did get mushy. I also omitted the onions. As if the dish wasn't yummy enough, I loved the way my apartment smelled while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
smelled great but no one cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this today for Thxgiving Dinner. The apples were mushy by 3 hours on high. I plan to cook the squash/ cranberries for a good hour and a half prior to adding the apples next time I make it. I added 2 tbsp of honey and found the taste pleasantly sweet. And yes the onions were omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
mushy and shapeless side dish. I gave up on serving it as a side dish, and pureed it into a good soup however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made the recipe as printed, and it got even better with each day. I liked the chunks of squash & cranberries surrounded by apple sauce sweetness. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States