Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The kind of recipe I like. It is simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EARLRWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
it was good, but I think it would have been better if I had cooked it for less time--probably because I halved the recipe and cooked it in my small cooker. It was great to have the squash and apples combined. I think less cook time and sprinkle with candied pecans would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was really good. I added about 1/3 can of whole berry cranberry sauce and a little salt. We had it with baked ham. I used golden delicious apples. The apple got done a lot sooner than the squash. Next time I will try to choose an apple that holds it shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was skeptical about serving this dish for part of our Christmas dinner since I had never made it before, but I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, it turned out to be my favorite part of the meal. The only thing that I did differently was I only cooked it on high for about three hours, and then turned it down to low until we were ready to eat. I think if I had left it on high the whole time the squash would have been too mushy. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was alright. The squash and the apple mixed together beautifully and really complimented Christmas dinner...Something wasn't quite right about it though. If I make it again, I will probably try it without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Mine was done in 3 hours. It smelled heavenly as it cooked. I also added some maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and a little melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Easy, flavorful side dish. Next time, I will add a full cup of dried cranberries. This dish was a great addition to our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I agree that something was not quite right about this recipe. It smelled wonderful while it was cooking but the apples were mushy and the squash was too firm. After the 4 hour cook time I decided to add some apple juice to the crockpot to try to steam the squash a bit. The flavor was not bad but the texture was off. I think it's the first time I've made anything in the crockpot without liquid. My family and friends said they liked it, but I think they were just being polite since it was the only menu item I made that I still have a tub of leftovers of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Tried this one for Christmas. It sounds delicious. I thought the spices overpowered the squash too much. Next time, I would decrease the amount of nutmeg and possibly add more aquash and less apple to the dish to make it more about the aquash. A guest said it smelled and tasted like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe sounded good with this combo of ingredients, but it wasn't good at all. The only thing I did differently was to add 1/2 cup apple juice hoping that that would help steam the squash a bit more since other reviewers had noted that the squash was still not cooked after the 4 hour cook time listed in the recipe. And I had the same results - not done after 4 hours, or 5 or 6 or 7. I ended up cooking this 8 hours until the squash was done. And in the end, we didn't like it. The soft texture of the apple chunks (and I used Granny Smith) with the still somewhat firm texture of the squash chunks wasn't appealing. So for the leftovers, I tried mashing it with milk and butter. It was more appetizing, but still not good. The rest got thrown in the trash. Such a waste of time and money. I gave this a 3 only because it was easy to make and the apple part was good. It was the squash part that made this a unappetizing (and I love squash by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States