Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This wasn't bad, but had a slight bite to it, and seemed a little dry. I think it needs some type of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is so good, it's like dessert!!! My kids even loved it so much we didn't have any leftovers!! The only changes I made were to add an extra apple (5 total) and leave out the onion. Also, layer the squash (diced in small cubes) on the bottom with the apples (diced in large chunks) on top. Don't stir until right before serving in order to keep the apples from getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This has become a family favorite. I used red onion and a little fresh cider with Melrose and Granny Smith apples then cooked on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMHecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe sounded good with this combo of ingredients, but it wasn't good at all. The only thing I did differently was to add 1/2 cup apple juice hoping that that would help steam the squash a bit more since other reviewers had noted that the squash was still not cooked after the 4 hour cook time listed in the recipe. And I had the same results - not done after 4 hours, or 5 or 6 or 7. I ended up cooking this 8 hours until the squash was done. And in the end, we didn't like it. The soft texture of the apple chunks (and I used Granny Smith) with the still somewhat firm texture of the squash chunks wasn't appealing. So for the leftovers, I tried mashing it with milk and butter. It was more appetizing, but still not good. The rest got thrown in the trash. Such a waste of time and money. I gave this a 3 only because it was easy to make and the apple part was good. It was the squash part that made this a unappetizing (and I love squash by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Tried this one for Christmas. It sounds delicious. I thought the spices overpowered the squash too much. Next time, I would decrease the amount of nutmeg and possibly add more aquash and less apple to the dish to make it more about the aquash. A guest said it smelled and tasted like apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I agree that something was not quite right about this recipe. It smelled wonderful while it was cooking but the apples were mushy and the squash was too firm. After the 4 hour cook time I decided to add some apple juice to the crockpot to try to steam the squash a bit. The flavor was not bad but the texture was off. I think it's the first time I've made anything in the crockpot without liquid. My family and friends said they liked it, but I think they were just being polite since it was the only menu item I made that I still have a tub of leftovers of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Easy, flavorful side dish. Next time, I will add a full cup of dried cranberries. This dish was a great addition to our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Mine was done in 3 hours. It smelled heavenly as it cooked. I also added some maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and a little melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was alright. The squash and the apple mixed together beautifully and really complimented Christmas dinner...Something wasn't quite right about it though. If I make it again, I will probably try it without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was skeptical about serving this dish for part of our Christmas dinner since I had never made it before, but I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, it turned out to be my favorite part of the meal. The only thing that I did differently was I only cooked it on high for about three hours, and then turned it down to low until we were ready to eat. I think if I had left it on high the whole time the squash would have been too mushy. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States