Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Just okay. Not the "wow" dish for Thanksgiving I was hoping for. Very easy to prepare. And I loved that it used the slow cooker. That part was convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I steamed the butternut squash for a bit first to try - and used the slow cooker for only 2.5 hours to avoid the mushy apple problem. It was tasty but even this didn't solve the mushy apple problem. I won't make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Sorry, didn't care for at all. Apples just didn't seem to go with squash! Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Added some salt & pepper, brown sugar & a little butter and it was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was ok. The spices were very over powering and it seemed like it was missing something. Mine was ready in 3 hours and I added maple syrup after tasting it. I'm glad I tried it but I probably won't make it again. If I do, I'll add more cranberries and leave out the spices all together and put in a little maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
my slow cooker must be really strong, because I cooked this for 3 hours on high and it just made a big mush. Very tasty mush, but I felt like pureeing it, because it was already at that state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Put it in a small crockpot, squash only first. the plan was high for one hour, low for two, put apples in for the last hour. Well, the squash was done before I put the apples in. Didn't use onions, used only two apples (braebean), put a little butter in...wish i put some kind of liquid in..kind of dry, overall turned out pretty good. My father in law really liked it and commented more than once about how flavorful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
One squash and 4 apples is teetering on overflowing my smaller crock pot, but I sat on the lid :) I love the smells. I am a bit concerned there is no liquid added... but I am following the recipe as written. I can't wait to taste this. The weather is rainy - this should be perfect! so far I'm giving it 4 stars The dish is very close to tasting like applesauce. That is not a bad thing, but I was looking forward to a more savory taste. My concern about liquid was not needed the dish created it's own. Hubby really likes the dish. Anyone think adding salt or sage or celery seed will enhance a savory touch? I think I would cut back on the apple, I used fuji's - 4 big ones. Very dominant flavor. Love the cranberry tartness. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeffysMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was AMAZING! The only thing I changed was I added golden, regular, and red raisins as well as sprinkled a little brown sugar on top:) Oh and I also used 1 small shallot chopped very fine instead of an onion because my boyfriend hates onions. I highly recomend this one! I will be making it for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Spreckels, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wonderful and easy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States