Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought this would be a healthy side-dish for Thanksgiving, but this is very mushy and the flavor is not great. It was rather dry, so I added 1/2 c. vegetable stock like another reviewer mentioned. This did not save the recipe. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
A little dry, but very easy to make and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This smelled fantastic, and tasted alright, but I was not overly impressed and warmed up leftovers had a texture that left much to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe and don't know what I did wrong, but this dish turned out so bitter. Disappointing ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
loved this recipe very easy to make I followed the advice on one review and put the squash in first then the rest on top cooked on high for 3 hours only otherwise would get mushy. used Gala apples holds shape better not mushy. added 1/2 cup maple syrup over top when ready to eat then mixed all together. everyone loved it at the supper table said it was more like a dessert, sweet taste. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Thanks to all the reviews that commented to make sure & cut the squash pieces smaller & the apple in large chunks. As a family that's only started eating squash in the last 6 months or so, we've been trying a variety of ways to eat squash & this is one of our favorites. Using different types of apples brings out different flavors & my kids love that it doesn't have a mushy/sticky consistency like some recipes using squash get if they are cooked too long. Another way to entice kiddos is to drizzle a little maple syrup over it when serving. Great recipe that made me more of a fan of squash than I had been before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a small piece of ginger and galangal (a ginger relative), walnuts and a bit of crushed cloves. Cooked it for the full four hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fair. My crockpot cooks rather quickly, so on high it took only about 2.5-3 hrs. Mine is also old-school, so I couldn't fit the requisite amount of ingredients and had to guess at the proportions I was adding. I used yellow onion and thought it was overpowering. I recommend sauteeing the onions first for a more consistent texture, otherwise, it's crunchy onions with mushy squash and apples. Mine looks nothing like the picture and the sqaush ended up with a stringy texture. Not sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
We almost liked this recipe. With a few changes I think it would be good. Start by reducing the cinnamon A LOT! Maybe only 1/2 tsp and reduce the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp. Then it would probably be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We thought this tasted pretty good. It was kind of a strange combination but ended up tasting great. A great way to use up some squash and apples that I needed to use up. Also pretty healthy. Which is a good thing! I did not add the onion. I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States