Savory Slow Cooker Squash and Apple Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
mushy and shapeless side dish. I gave up on serving it as a side dish, and pureed it into a good soup however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made the recipe as printed, and it got even better with each day. I liked the chunks of squash & cranberries surrounded by apple sauce sweetness. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Flavor was good...got a little mushy, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed recipe exactly using granny smith apples and leaving out the onion, Very good and loved the way it made the kitchen smell. Also it is vegan so could be enjoyed by all family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My grandkids ate it before they knew it had squash! It was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used frozen butternut squash, also thought is was rather bland. I added butter, brown sugar & a little maply syrup after it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I was hesitant about making this for Thanksgiving, but it turned out very well. It was well received by everyone, even my fussy eaters. I used Honeycrisp apples and put the squash on the bottom layer as suggested by others, cutting the squash smaller than the apples. I didn't stir until the end. The texture was just fine, with everything holding its shape. I left out the optional onions. I'm glad I tried this. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved this! I did not use cranberries and I added 1-1/2 ts of fresh chopped ginger, 1/4 ts ground cloves, and I used granny smith apples. I'm not use to sweet things and I thought it great, but my family who eat a lot of sugar were not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought this would be a healthy side-dish for Thanksgiving, but this is very mushy and the flavor is not great. It was rather dry, so I added 1/2 c. vegetable stock like another reviewer mentioned. This did not save the recipe. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
A little dry, but very easy to make and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States