Savory Sausage Toad-in-the-Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
The whole family loved this. I did add more seasonings, like garlic powder and pepper. Didn't have savory, so used a little sage too. Older son is already planning on making it in a dutch oven at the next scout camping trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was just really strange. I was anticipating something like Yorkshire Pudding with sausage but it wasn't. It has the consistency of a stiff pudding, almost like flan, which was just odd. The kids didn't like it either until they covered it in syrup. (Followed directions exactly with no modifications.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My family liked this recipe. I made a couple of tweaks by substituting garlic salt for the salt and I added these new bacon flavored french fried onions that I found on my last shopping trip. I also followed on reviewer's suggestion and served it with brown gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRISSP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is a good dish, I must admit. First off, I didn't know what the heck dried savory was so I used sausage seasoning. It does taste like sausage link in pancakes so I wonder what ground sausage would be like in this? Good dish to make for a morning brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Very similar to the Toad-in-the-Hole that I have made for years. I serve mine with brown gravy on top - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We enjoyed this--after a long while, which was entirely my fault. I didn't read the part about 9x13 pan, and chose to put it in a 9 inch deep dish pie container. This resulted in it being too deep, and taking too long to cook! It puffs WAY UP in the air while it cooks, and deflates considerably as it cools (which is rather neat to see). As far as flavor goes, I added 1/4 c. dehydrated onions and in the future I will add more spices or flavorings to the bread part. Someone mentioned cheese, and I think that would be good; also garlic and of course, onions galore :-) My husband called this "Sausage Pie" and was thrilled with it! P.S. To make this recipe work in a pie plate, I believe you need to halve the entire recipe, or use 2 pie plates. Thanks for the recipe, it was unique enough, even with needing some flavor add-ins, to be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My husband really, really liked this. I thought if nothing else he would be entertained but he ate a ton of it and with rave reviews. I made the recipe as described except I halved it. I also threw in some garlic and black pepper. DH said it would be even better with more seasonings in the batter. Very fun and good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Got the o'k to make this one again from my picky boyfriend. Mmmm, good with applesauce :) Made exactly as stated and it turned out perfect. UPDATE: Cut the recipe in half and cooked it in an 8X8 pan; takes the same amount of time to bake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was looking for a recipe for my picky eater that hates pancakes. Only substitute was thyme as I didn't have savory. The family enjoyed it. Next time I may add parmesean cheese to the batter. Over all good flavor I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was really good! I made it with a whole wheat pancake mix and Apple chicken sausage. Everybody loved it, from the toddlers to the hubby! I will make this again. My husband suggested using a cornbread mix, so I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States