Savory Sausage, Cheese and Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Made some basic substitutions, including using real eggs, butter, and real sausage. Overall, the texture was good, but the flavor was really bland. I won't be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Our family is not vegetarian, so I made the following substitutions: butter for margarine, 2 eggs for egg substitute, and real crumbled sausage for meatless patties. The muffins looked nice, but they just didn't have much flavor at all. I might add some cheddar next time, and maybe a teaspoon of seasoned salt to the dry ingredients. They were just way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Seemed to be very dry and not hold together. Although they were a tad better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These are not good. Perhaps the sausage substitute I used was less than awesome but YIKES. I would say to try these in the middle of diet when you are hard up for something filling. If you make them in the beginning it will just remind you of what you are missing. Back to the drawing board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Definitely a keeper! I doubled the recipe and substituted a pound of maple blueberry venison sausage in place of the meatless patties. I also used 2 eggs in place of the egg substitute & about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese instead of the parm. I baked them for 8 minutes, sprinkled on montery jack cheese, and baked another 2-3 min. I froze most of them so my dh and ds can take them to work but I'm sure my dd and I will be sneaking a few of them. So Yummy! :) A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Added cut up spinach, was very savory. Plan on freezing to use for make ahead breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Not overly embraced by my family. They prefer sweet muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We enjoyed these. I'm putting them in the "rotation" of savory muffins that we enjoy with soup or by themselves for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These were quite tasty, although not a WOW from the boys, which I was hoping for so that I could put them in school lunches. Like other viewers, I used butter and real eggs. I also used 1/4 cup w.w. flour and the rest white. Might play around with it to kick it up a notch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
these were really good! hubby & son approved! :D i added flax meal (but forgot to compensate the wet, so they came out a bit drier than i would have liked, but clearly my own and fixable mistake. :P) added some thyme, a little chicken bouillon (in powder), and subbed greek yogurt for the buttermilk. also used real butter and a cupful of parm. :D yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States