Savory Rosemary Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I love that I didnt have to follow the recipe exactly but it still turned out great. I hosted a party Saturday where I served this crusty garlic bread with herbed dipping oil. Well, I had a lot of bread left over, as well as oil that had been sitting with the herbs in it. So I substituted the bread and olive oil in this recipe for the bread and olive oil that I had. I used a combination of sharp white chedder and colby jack cheeses. I also just used 2% milk. I didn't have cream, so I just used what I had. I also used dried rosemary because I didn't have fresh rosemary. I added bacon pieces just to give it a little meat. Despite all my substitutions, the dish came out really well. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I love to serve this as a side dish for an Italian dinner. This wonderful recipe is great just as it is but I do add some things at different times. Add halved cherry tomatoes and toss with the bread. Really tastes good and looks beautiful. I have also added browned bulk sausage or chopped up bacon and serving as a savory breakfast dish. This is really good - and add whatever you have that you like to eat and that cooks well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was delicious. I used shredded havarti and added diced ham, it was super yummyl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
WOW! My kids and I loved it! I did add diced deli turkey and diced canned potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious. Granted, I used this recipe more as a general guide than hard-coded instructions; it turned out great, and I love the fact that this can be used loosely with leftovers. I had the better part of a rosemary potato loaf left over and used that along with some herbed cheese that had gone untouched for quite some time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Super. I used whole milk instead of the more fattening stuff. I also added kale and butternut squash (sauted before hand) and it was simply yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Awesome. Everyone's right, this could work with any bread and cheese. I used some 1.5 week old garlic-seasoned bread leftover from a party, and 2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheeses. I omitted the onion since my guests aren't real fans of onions (I know, what?), and added in a 10 oz. package of frozen spinach (first tried to add it into the pan with the oil and rosemary, but I didn't thaw it ahead of time, so I ended up removing the spinach block and heating it in the microwave, then adding it to the bowl of bread cubes, olive oil, and rosemary). I also just used 2 cups of 1% milk, since that's what I had, and used all 6 eggs. I loved the consistency, though I'm not familiar enough with either quiche or custard to say what it's more like. It was definitely a substantial meal component, accompanied by Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries (without the fries) recipe here by Sandy Witek -- awesome. Next time, I'll try to add in some mushrooms to see if this can be a complete meal in one dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Excellent Recipe! I added in a cup of sauteed mushrooms while tossing and used Fontina cheese...Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added a couple twists of my own- garlic, extra cheese, a little thyme. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Made this as 4 servings in a smaller dish, 30 minutes was perfect. I had a sourdough baguette and some herbed goat cheese and it turned out gorgeous. Such a great idea! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Chef John's Savory Ricotta Tart

A super-simple savory tart loaded with herby, cheesy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States