Savory Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very delicious recipe. I added minced garlic to the spice mix. Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this chicken recipe for dinner tonight. It was the best roast chicken I have ever made in my entire life. Just wish I had had some film for my camera so I could have taken a picture of it. That is how good it looked and tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was amazing! You really need to make sure you do the rub under the skin, it really intensifies the flavors. The only thing I changed was I put some chicken broth inside the body cavity and at the bottom of the dish. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy made from the chicken, and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've roasted more whole chickens in the past 12 months than I can possibly remember - all different recipes, all taste the same. This was the first that tasted different and wasn't just the same boring chicken. I followed the recipe with the exception of doubling the orange zest, adding half to the rub and reserving the other half to go on top of the chicken as it cooked - along with a little sea salt. Excellent results! I do agree with another post, lifting the skin and applying the spices between the skin and meat made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this last night for the first time. I have been roasting chickens all my adult life. This is the best ever!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was a great recipe - quick and easy to prepare. The orange zest is an important addition but doesn't make the chicken "orange-y"!! Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Yummmm. I used olive oil since I didn't have canola, and added minced garlic and olive oil to the rub. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I also subbed sage instead of savory since it was in the cabinet. Cooking the chicken at 425 for about 20 minutes really helped the crunchiness of the skin. I'd highly recommend it to anyone trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
So moist and yummy. Who knew that such a simple recipe would turn out so delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
delicious! I used more orange zest (maybe a little too much) great combination of spices. I used a thermometer/timer but I think it cooked for around 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States