Savory Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The only reason I gave this a 4 instead of a 5 star is because I made so many changes...First of all, I always use a 5-6 lb bird to feed my family. Then I have enough left over for soup or sandwiches. I added minced onion and garlic to the rub and used sage as a substitue for savory (which I never have) and doubled the amount of everything- stuffed under the skin. I squeezed juice from the orange over the bird and drizzled it with olive oil just before roasting- adding red potatoes to the dish. I preheated my oven to 450 degrees and roasted it for about 20 minutes to get that golden crispy skin and smokey flavor. Then I reduced the temp down to 375 degrees for the remainder of cooking time. Allowed it to rest for 15 minutes upside down (breast down) to let the juices run to the good meat. SO WORTH IT! Moistest, most flavorful chicken you will ever taste. My Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've roasted more whole chickens in the past 12 months than I can possibly remember - all different recipes, all taste the same. This was the first that tasted different and wasn't just the same boring chicken. I followed the recipe with the exception of doubling the orange zest, adding half to the rub and reserving the other half to go on top of the chicken as it cooked - along with a little sea salt. Excellent results! I do agree with another post, lifting the skin and applying the spices between the skin and meat made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Great! My fiance actually got up to get seconds! I did change a few things though, one was instead of canola I used olive oil on the bird. I also used more oil than the recipe called for and was rewarded with all over brown crispy skin! I also threw some seasoning inside the chicken and into cuts I made in the skin of the drumsticks to try to get some of it all over the chicken. I also want to add more orange peel next time. There was no "hint of orange" as far as smell or taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this chicken recipe for dinner tonight. It was the best roast chicken I have ever made in my entire life. Just wish I had had some film for my camera so I could have taken a picture of it. That is how good it looked and tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great recipe for "Savory" roasted chicken. I did up the orange a bit and used olive oil vs. canola. I also cut up an orange and placed that into the cavity. There's nothing like the smell of a roast chicken and the taste was just as wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great Recipe - but I made a few changes. I ended up mixing onion salt, sage, thyme, and rosemary, along with minced onion and minced garlic (like a previous reviewer suggested) with the pepper and oil to make the rub. I also put a pierced lemon into the cavity - I didn't notice a taste change, but my understanding is that it's more for a moisture thing. The chicken was FANTASTIC, although took a LONG time to cook (Might have had something to do with not fully thawing the chicken....... woops..) and my parents LOVED it and went back for seconds (Have I surpassed my mother in the cooking section... My Dad seems to think so! *LOL*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was amazing! You really need to make sure you do the rub under the skin, it really intensifies the flavors. The only thing I changed was I put some chicken broth inside the body cavity and at the bottom of the dish. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy made from the chicken, and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whodunitrdr
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very moist and full of flavor. I roasted a 4 1/2# chicken and it was done in 1 1/2 hours. I used sage instead of savory (did not have any savory) and doubled the orange zest as some others had recommended. I rubbed a little of the rub inside the chicken, some under the skin and the rest on the outside after oiling with olive oil. Very easy and delicious and a nice change from my usual roast chicken with Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I made this last night, and it was finger likin' good. I only made minor changes. I didn't measure the herbs, just sprinkled them on. And instead of canola, I used olive oil. I also put some butter underneath the skin. All in all a great recipe. My husband will definitely be requesting this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindygriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This turned out perfectly. I used a bit more oil and orange zest. I roasted 2 chickens, and they did take the full 2 hours... Very, very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States