Savory Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
delicious! I used more orange zest (maybe a little too much) great combination of spices. I used a thermometer/timer but I think it cooked for around 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
So moist and yummy. Who knew that such a simple recipe would turn out so delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I also subbed sage instead of savory since it was in the cabinet. Cooking the chicken at 425 for about 20 minutes really helped the crunchiness of the skin. I'd highly recommend it to anyone trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Yummmm. I used olive oil since I didn't have canola, and added minced garlic and olive oil to the rub. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Even with doubling the spices, using olive oil instead of canola, and adding a good shake of garlic powder, I still found this rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whodunitrdr
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very moist and full of flavor. I roasted a 4 1/2# chicken and it was done in 1 1/2 hours. I used sage instead of savory (did not have any savory) and doubled the orange zest as some others had recommended. I rubbed a little of the rub inside the chicken, some under the skin and the rest on the outside after oiling with olive oil. Very easy and delicious and a nice change from my usual roast chicken with Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Yummy! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great Recipe - but I made a few changes. I ended up mixing onion salt, sage, thyme, and rosemary, along with minced onion and minced garlic (like a previous reviewer suggested) with the pepper and oil to make the rub. I also put a pierced lemon into the cavity - I didn't notice a taste change, but my understanding is that it's more for a moisture thing. The chicken was FANTASTIC, although took a LONG time to cook (Might have had something to do with not fully thawing the chicken....... woops..) and my parents LOVED it and went back for seconds (Have I surpassed my mother in the cooking section... My Dad seems to think so! *LOL*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I followed this recipe to the T and after an hour and half of cooking in wasn't even half way done. I had to cook it another 45 minutes at 425. The flavor was good, but a little bland for our taste buds....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The only reason I gave this a 4 instead of a 5 star is because I made so many changes...First of all, I always use a 5-6 lb bird to feed my family. Then I have enough left over for soup or sandwiches. I added minced onion and garlic to the rub and used sage as a substitue for savory (which I never have) and doubled the amount of everything- stuffed under the skin. I squeezed juice from the orange over the bird and drizzled it with olive oil just before roasting- adding red potatoes to the dish. I preheated my oven to 450 degrees and roasted it for about 20 minutes to get that golden crispy skin and smokey flavor. Then I reduced the temp down to 375 degrees for the remainder of cooking time. Allowed it to rest for 15 minutes upside down (breast down) to let the juices run to the good meat. SO WORTH IT! Moistest, most flavorful chicken you will ever taste. My Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States