Savory Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was a great recipe - quick and easy to prepare. The orange zest is an important addition but doesn't make the chicken "orange-y"!! Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very delicious recipe. I added minced garlic to the spice mix. Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this last night for the first time. I have been roasting chickens all my adult life. This is the best ever!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I made this last night, and it was finger likin' good. I only made minor changes. I didn't measure the herbs, just sprinkled them on. And instead of canola, I used olive oil. I also put some butter underneath the skin. All in all a great recipe. My husband will definitely be requesting this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindygriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This turned out perfectly. I used a bit more oil and orange zest. I roasted 2 chickens, and they did take the full 2 hours... Very, very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
My boyfriend and I loved this chicken! I changed it a little bit by stuffing in with some stovetop stuffing mixed with some sauteed onions and celery. Also, I cut up red bliss potatoes and put them around the edges with some oil and spices on them. I loved the orange in this recipie, it added a really different taste and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've roasted more whole chickens in the past 12 months than I can possibly remember - all different recipes, all taste the same. This was the first that tasted different and wasn't just the same boring chicken. I followed the recipe with the exception of doubling the orange zest, adding half to the rub and reserving the other half to go on top of the chicken as it cooked - along with a little sea salt. Excellent results! I do agree with another post, lifting the skin and applying the spices between the skin and meat made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Great! My fiance actually got up to get seconds! I did change a few things though, one was instead of canola I used olive oil on the bird. I also used more oil than the recipe called for and was rewarded with all over brown crispy skin! I also threw some seasoning inside the chicken and into cuts I made in the skin of the drumsticks to try to get some of it all over the chicken. I also want to add more orange peel next time. There was no "hint of orange" as far as smell or taste in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was amazing! You really need to make sure you do the rub under the skin, it really intensifies the flavors. The only thing I changed was I put some chicken broth inside the body cavity and at the bottom of the dish. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy made from the chicken, and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this chicken recipe for dinner tonight. It was the best roast chicken I have ever made in my entire life. Just wish I had had some film for my camera so I could have taken a picture of it. That is how good it looked and tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States