Savory Rice Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great idea. I've found that adding a little flour to thicken it helps a lot. Some fresh onion instead of just powder is great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I had left over brown rice and added leftover frozen veggies that were already cooked. I also added sauteed diced onion. I added a little flour to bind and a little baking powder for lightness...FABULOUS! Brown and crispy outside and light and creamy and fluffy inside. I am not a fan of brown rice(that is why it was leftover) but it worked beautifully for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We've been making these since we were kids. The egg/rice balance is really important - we generally mix the egg and milk, then add rice a bit at a time to be sure we keep things from getting too dry. It needs to be a little soupy for the egg to hold it all together when cooked up. I think day-old rice is better here (just like with fried rice) because of the change in consistency. Also, try leaving out the onion, putting a bit of salt on them when frying, then top them with syrup. We've always done this as a sweet breakfast and not a savory snack. mmmm (either way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This wasn't bad, the finished product reminds me of potato pancakes. So topped with sour cream and salsa was a thought to try with them. But I went ahead and sweetened this pancake up with raisins cinnamon and some stevia. Which I enjoyed just eating plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I doubled the recipe and test-tasted the first one off the grill. Really nice flavor although I had trouble getting the "pancakes" to stay together in the pan. I stacked the rest of them with plastic wrap between each one in the fridge so they can be a quick breakfast or snack later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I cooked my rice the night before and added grated parmesan and some italian seasoned bread crumbs, which really gave this recipe the little flavor kick it was missing. I also browned the butter pretty good before I put the rice patties in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by catmaxwell
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I was expecting this to be a lot more flavorful than it was. It's pretty plain, but it's the kind of mellow flavor where it's still really tasty to eat. I had mine with some ketchup to liven up the flavor a bit. I will make these again. :) But next time I'll find something to add that will really bump up the flavor. I was thinking some garlic salt would be nice. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catmaxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I had leftover rice I wanted to do something and after reading the reviews decided to make more of a breakfast cake. I left out the chives, onion, salt/pepper and added cinnomon, honey and some panko bread crumbs for consistency. I think they turned out perfectly and could be eaten plain, with syrup. honey or fruit topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States