Savory Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This soup was fragrant and delicious! The cilantro was just the most perfect touch. Out of all the different soups i have made, this is the one that my husband and i have agreed is the best -- and we have tried many 5 star recipes from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Very tasty. This soup is more like a bisque and it is much better the second day (leave it in the fridge overnight for the flavors to blend). Top it with some mozzerella cheese and it's great! I'm making this for a Thanksgiving appetizer and I'll serve it in tiny pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCELL81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
We used this in our cooking program- cooking for 30+ people. A lot of raised eyebrows at the menu and even more converts to pumpkin soup, as I went home and had to make it once for family and again for a party. Sara you are a pumpkin evangelist with this recicipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodd Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tisdale, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup is perfect for me. Its a pumpkin bisque soup, and just what I need to have a side for lunch at work. Preparation is minimal, and it mixes up in one pot, so I'm pleased with the ROI. I love pumpkin, so the taste is fine for me the way it is. I substituted minced garlic from a jar instead of the garlic powder. I omitted the pasta (I try to avoid carbs) and am most pleased with the results. I may increase the pumpkin pie spice next time, and the cilantro. Thank you for this recipe - its going into the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I loved this soup. I however did not add the pasta, because I wanted a totaly creamy soup, and I used my hand held blender to puree. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Smooth, enjoyable and attractive dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Delicious and rich, this delightful fall flavor soup was a wonderful way to round out our holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I made this soup for the guests at my annual Octoberfest and it was a big hit. Most people were leary about eating Pumpkin Soup, but after trying it, they all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My husband rates this 4 stars because he didn't get enough. My kids rate it yummy. I made two loaves last night and it is gone now!!! It was very tasty and moist although I did have a little trouble with swirling the cream cheese mixture. Next time I will try layering it as suggested by some. Still good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waliya Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner a few years ago, and have though about making it again ever since. I got the impression it was an "old-fashioned" style soup, since only my friend's grandmother was very vocal about how good it was ("No one makes food like this anymore!"). My concern in making it now is the 2 cups of heavy cream... I suppose milk would work, but I was also wondering if a mixture of silken tofu and water might work as a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States