Savory Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This soup is perfect for me. Its a pumpkin bisque soup, and just what I need to have a side for lunch at work. Preparation is minimal, and it mixes up in one pot, so I'm pleased with the ROI. I love pumpkin, so the taste is fine for me the way it is. I substituted minced garlic from a jar instead of the garlic powder. I omitted the pasta (I try to avoid carbs) and am most pleased with the results. I may increase the pumpkin pie spice next time, and the cilantro. Thank you for this recipe - its going into the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is too much like a "cream of pumpkin" type soup. It IS very bland (despite the directions not stating that the cilantro measurement is for FRESH cilantro and having my husband put WAY too much dried in). It definitely needed some salt and pepper. Even then, it wasn't great. Also incredibly unhealthy with all the cream, sour cream and cheese! Adding vitamins (from the pumpkin) to fat doesn't really make the fat better for you :) Overall, decent enough if you are looking for a cream of pumpkin (like cream of celery in a can) soup, but not a good PUMPKIN soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner a few years ago, and have though about making it again ever since. I got the impression it was an "old-fashioned" style soup, since only my friend's grandmother was very vocal about how good it was ("No one makes food like this anymore!"). My concern in making it now is the 2 cups of heavy cream... I suppose milk would work, but I was also wondering if a mixture of silken tofu and water might work as a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My husband rates this 4 stars because he didn't get enough. My kids rate it yummy. I made two loaves last night and it is gone now!!! It was very tasty and moist although I did have a little trouble with swirling the cream cheese mixture. Next time I will try layering it as suggested by some. Still good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waliya Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I loved this soup. I however did not add the pasta, because I wanted a totaly creamy soup, and I used my hand held blender to puree. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Way too bland! I was left with way too much nasty soup. I really upped the amount of spices because of other's reviews, but it still didn't help. I should have listened to the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I would rate this recipe with NO STARS if I could. It was extremely thick and very bland. I made it for Christmas dinner for my family, and most of them forced it down not wanting to hurt my feelings - until I let them know that I didn't like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Good recipe. Very subtle flavor of the pumpkin. The only complaint I have is that the soup is a bit too thick for my liking (esp. after the pasta is added). If I were to do this recipe again, I wouldn't add the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
We used this in our cooking program- cooking for 30+ people. A lot of raised eyebrows at the menu and even more converts to pumpkin soup, as I went home and had to make it once for family and again for a party. Sara you are a pumpkin evangelist with this recicipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodd Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tisdale, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States