Savory Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was really good. I served it as an appetizer on Thanksgiving this year. I wasn't happy with the seasoning. To me, it was a little bland with the recipe (however, I like things with a zing). So, I would recommend you make the recipe as stated. Taste it and add what you like. I added 2 more garlic cloves, cayenne pepper and a little more lemon juice and it fit my tastebuds, but this was excellent, healthy, and full of fiber. This is something you can make throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Just made it (halfed the receipe). I too am having to let the flavors mingle for the 2 hours indicated in the receipe before I cast my final vote. I also used my vitamix. I had to add liquid to get the blades moving. Next time I won't drain the chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! I made it exactly as written and found it perfect! I made it for a group of friends and everyone wanted the recipe. I am picky when it comes to "good" hummus and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I used 1 can garbanzo & 1 can pumpkin. Once everything was blended, I added cayenne to my liking. Great recipe!!! Simply, yummy, healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Taste is interesting...not hummus and not pumpkin. Followed the recipe to the letter and my Vitamix could barely move because it was so thick. Ended up adding 2 tablespoons extra olive oil and tahini, another cup of pumpkin and whatever extra lemon juice I could squeeze out of the lemon. Finally, stirred in 1 cup of toasted pumpkin seeds. Am reserving judgement until it has chilled and flavors melded. Am taking it to a party and will post reactions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Wonderful! I made it for our (Canadian) Thanksgiving dinner and served with crudites. I followed the creator RedHedd's suggested modifications. Definitely has a bite with 1/2 tsp of cayenne. One idea is if you make your own tahini (I did) in the food processor, then you can make the hummus right after without washing out the food processor - two birds with one stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Oh my goodness!!! I always buy hummus. This is the first timeI have made it. This stuff is awesome! I put less Cayenne in it because my husband doesn't like it too spicy. We only waited 20 minutes to eat some. It looked too good to wait 2 long hours for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaiNai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I would suggest adding some Sriracha for heat. I like it pretty spicy so I tend to add more than any normal human being should, but it tastes pretty wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this to take to Thanksgiving, followed the recipe with the adjustments RedHedd had posted in a review/comment. It was a big hit. The pumpkin taste is not at all overpowering, and the seasoning was flavorful without being too spicy. My husband and daughter are big hummus fans, and definitely gave thumbs up to this recipe. It was our first time making our own hummus, and it came out perfectly. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I make hummus frequently but this may be my new fav recipe. Modified to one can of beans , one cup pumpkin, and 1/4 t of cayenne because I don't like too much heat. All else the same. Even my teenager who says she doesn't like pumpkin commented that it is really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States