Savory Pumpkin Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great recipe. Thanks! I used red kuri instead of pumpkin, upped the butter content to 1/4C, increased salt to 1 tsp., seasoned the squash and onions with fresh rosemary and marjoram leaves, and topped it off with parmesan cheese. I think if I make it again (which I probably will) I'll cut down on the ricotta and add some gorgonzola or bleu cheese in its place -- the squash and onions were very flavorful, but the ricotta filling was a little bland for my taste. Totally worth making, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this last fall and LOVED it! So creamy, perfect healthy substitute for mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was amazing- I used a pumpkin fresh from the garden so it did have a hint of sweet. I used monterey jack and parmesan cheeses since it was what I had-- I will do the same next time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly minus salt and pepper to taste rather than measuring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this recipe as written and no one cared for it. It was bland. I took the left overs and mixed in garlic salt then topped with Italian bread crumbs and Parm. It turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I thought this was pretty great, but my kids were not impressed. I sauteed the onion with some garlic in the butter first, and I think this really made the dish. In fact, I will add more garlic next time. Skinning the pumpkin is a pain, and my friend who is a chef said to try cooking it right in the pumpkin halved. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very yummy savory recipe. This recipe is a keeper. I added 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh sage and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the egg mixture before pouring over the pumpkin. Also mixed 1 cup panko crumbs and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and sprinkled that over the top before baking. It was most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this last night and my husband could not get enough of it! I had some herb butter on hand and gave the onions a very quick sautee in the melted butter before mixing with the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bambam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I sauted the onion and increased the salt to 1 tsp., the white pepper to 1/2 tsp., added 1/4 tsp. Rosemary, 1/2 tsp. Savory, and 1/4 c. Parmesan cheese. Yum yum!! Will make again! baked for 40 min, still somewhat watery, but just use a slotted spoon to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I took this to a pumpkin party and no one really enjoyed this, I think it needs more spices, but don't know just yet what I would do to spice this dish up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I needed to use up some pumpkin and ricotta cheese so imagine my delight to find this recipe! My pumpin was pre-cooked so I fried the onion in a pan with olive oil (instead of butter), spread it out ontop of the pumpkin and then poured the cheese mix on top and baked for 20 minutes. I had a bit less than the 3/4 cup of ricotta so used parmesan to make up the difference. It was not runny (I was worried as another poster made that comment) at all (I'd already considered trying it with bread crumbs next time but don't need to). It had a nice flavour but next time I'll cut the pumpkin pieces smaller. Mine were about 1.5" square and that was definitely too big. It looks much nicer than the picture by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States