Savory Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used leftover pork roast, potatoes and carrots I had cooked in the oven a few days earlier, so skipped the browning stage. Added all the other ingredients, but used evaporated milk in place of regular milk, as its consistency usually keeps you from needing to add additional thickener. This was really good, and as I did it on the stove-top, I just threw it all together and heated to serve; very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was excellent! I used a few more potatoes, added carrots, low-fat soup and cooked it in the crock-pot for 8 hours on low based on some of the other reviews. I added the milk an hour before it was done. It turned out great! The meat was soooo tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this exactly as written, and even though I have a very large crockpot, I could barely fit it all in. The recipe calls for '8 Red Potatoes' but it should probably read '6 medium red potatoes, cubed' because that's all that would fit. Also, like many other reviewers, I noticed the cooktime to be way off. After the first hour on high, the crockpot hadn't started bubbling at all. I cooked it for 5 1/2 hours on high and the potatoes were still hard -- I should have cut them smaller. Overall, it was soupy but it thickened up and tasted better the second day. I threw in some carrots and 3 boneless pork chops for meal #2 and it was better. I didn't like this dish enough to make it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Never have much luck finding recipes that I really love but this was one of them! Excellent, flavorful and filling. I had no beef broth so used chicken; I added celery and carrots. Did NOT cook it in the crockpot as recipe stated. Cooked it on the stove bringing it to a boil and them simmering until potatos were done. My broth was perfect with a nice, thick "stew" texture. Yum, Yum and my hubby agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This stew was a hit! Never heard of, or tried a pork based stew but sure glad I did. I did as others suggested and added carrotts and garlic also, in place of potatoes I used rutabegas (they go great with pork and are healthier) and added some green beans, also used both cream of mushroom soup and golden. I also had to thicken the broth a bit as mine was runny. And, as others stated it has to cook for much longer then stated (I cooked mine all day in the slow cooker). VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This stew was really tasty, but next time I will use a little less italian seasoning, it was a little much. The only thing that I did differently was add a little crushed red pepper for a little zing! Also I didn't have any red peppers and I never use onion (only onion powder) which was fine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Okay so I was worried; I saw another negative rating posted today and was rushing home to see how mine turned out... I don't know what she was talking about b/c this is GREEEAAAATTTT! I did as the recipe called for except I played with different spices that we like; garlic, def. added more Italian, onion powder and a touch of chili powder. I threw it together last night in the crock and let it sit in the fridge overnight, simply turned on my crockpot and set on low for 8 hours. And off to work I went. Thanks for an awesome recipe which will become a staple in our house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was an excellent stew. I did not use the cornstarch and played around with seasoning to make it a little spicy, but awesome. Great to come home to on a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Liked this very much. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Use "Golden Mushroom" Soup instead it makes all the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States