Savory Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very nice! As with most slow cooker recipes, this is a very adapting and forgiving dish. My note of caution is this: like another person, I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes, and it turned the slurry pink. The final product was dark pink instead of that red in the photo. Tasted fine, but I can see that being a problem if you have picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
The whole family loved it, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Peppers overtook the flavour, it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
When tasting during the cooking process it tasted *wonderful*. However, I must have overcooked it. When I tasted it the next morning (after cooking from 6pm to 11pm the evening before, disconnecting the crock pot, then tasting the next morning)it tasted tart -- like I had added vinegar to it. I finally got the tartness to calm down by adding another can of mushroom soup, parsley, more garlic (which cures *everything* :D) cayenne pepper, and a little sugar. Next time I make this dish, I will cook just until the potatoes are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
A very flavorful and hearty stew I did change it a bit and substituted carrots and celery for the peppers and instead of stewed tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles family loved it! Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I followed the recipe ingredients, but I altered the cook time to 8 hours on low as I use my crock pot when I am working all day. It came out great and I've made it a few times already. The family likes it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This has been a family favorite since I discovered it on All Recipes a few years ago. I make it once a month and often serve it to guests. We eat the stew with cornbread on the side. Yum! I usually add some carrots. Also, I peel and cube a couple of potatoes instead of the 8 red potatoes. My slow cooker is small, and it barely fits this stew. Instead, I simmer it covered on the stove for 45 minutes. Don't forget to stir occasionally if you cook it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
A nice homey filling stew, I did brown the pork well to get a nice color on it as it added some depth to the pork and also cooked it on high for 5 hrs. I also added tapioca at the end to thicken and left out the milk as it was pretty creamy form the cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is one delicious stew. I am a stew and chili man and make them all the time. First time I made this and will make it over and over again. I did leave in the crock pot longer than suggested and it came out just fine. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khenry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
November 7, 2012 I loved this recipe it was great. The pork was melt in your mouth tasty and so tender. My husband and daughter loved it. I will be making this recipe again. I would not change a thing. Gina N Bayonne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States