Savory Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I had almost nothing of the ingredients listed, but I was looking to make a stew with some leftover Marinated Pork Tenderloin from this site. I used 1 large russet potato, carrots, a scallion and some celery. I microwaved this for about 8 minutes to get it started as my meat was already fully cooked. For the sauce, I used a can of broth, a can of cream of chicken soup, milk and rotel tomatoes mixed with the cornstarch. I did not add the italian seasoning as the meat was already well seasoned. This turned out tasty and spicy! I can't wait to try the actual recipe. Thanks for great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice Begeal-Grubbs
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I cooked 4hrs on high. Turned out just right. Except mine wasn't the same dark brown color.... It was good. It all went between 5 people. Nothing spectacular. Could've added black beans perhaps...celery. Other than the time, I did it exactly as it said. I even added some cornstarch at the end like another review said to thicken the sauce...just didn't look like the picture...dunno why. Was an okay meal and certainly something different cause I normally don't do stews, more of a roast type person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I really liked this, but do agree that cooking time was way off. I used pork tenderloin, added a little less broth and a can of black beans and four diced potatoes (versus eight) and cooked for an hour on high and then on low for about seven hours. Over rice, it was great. I'm not a huge fan of sodium, so flavor for me was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
As others have noted, this gets better with time, where the flavors can meld together. The first time I made it, I didn't think it was great, but the next day.....yummy!! Even making a few hours before dinner and letting it sit really makes the flavor come through. As far as using the slow cooker for this recipe - it only has a two hour cook time, so I just make it on top of the stove in a Dutch oven, slowly simmering it on low for about two hours. I find that potatoes are slow to get done in the slow cooker anyway, and I usually cook them for a few minutes before adding them to any slow cooker recipe. We love this recipe! I served it with freshly baked zucchini yeast rolls last night - so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This tasted delicious!! I didn't have pork stew meat so I just got ribs and cut the meat off into chunks. The only thing I would say is that it took A LOT longer than 2 hours on high in the slow cooker to cook the potatoes (and they were diced)... I will make it again but either cook it for 5 hours on high or 8-10 on low like most crock stew recipes say. (USE at least a 5 QT. crock pot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I replaced the corn with black beans as someone had done. I included some carrots as well. I cooked on the slow cooker for 6 hours on high. I added a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce too! It turned out great and had a nice taste to it. We actually liked it better than regular beef stew. Had a nice flavor to it. Would make this again. Perfect for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent as it was written. I added lots of extra carrots and used Better than Beef Base and water instead of broth (I had none). I also added a can of rinsed black beans as others had suggested and eliminated the corn. The pork came out so incredibly tender. The whole family loved it and I have two picky kids aged 4 and 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel Erickson
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this! I did add extra veggies like carrots and celery. It wasn't as thick as I would have liked it to be so I added an extra can of cream of mushroom and a packet of brown gravy about 30 min. Before it was done. I cooked it on high for about 4 1\2 hours. It was delicious and I well definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very nice! As with most slow cooker recipes, this is a very adapting and forgiving dish. My note of caution is this: like another person, I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes, and it turned the slurry pink. The final product was dark pink instead of that red in the photo. Tasted fine, but I can see that being a problem if you have picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
The whole family loved it, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States