Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This bread was really good! I made it in one of my nonstick cake pans, so I didn't need to grease it. Also, I added some garlic, and a little bit more baking powder, so it was really fluffy. I served it with a beef pot pie and we loved it. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Delicious. The texture was a bit different from other breads - almost cakelike (probably due to the egg). It was quite moist. Followed directions, except that I topped with mozzarella instead of cheddar because I only had one bag of cheddar defrosted. I also used 1/4c yellow onion and 1/4c red. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this bread with a gluten-free flour mix, with no other changes to the recipe, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thomas, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because it was SOOO easy and had lots of flavor. Next time will add even more garlic powder - I simply sprinkled some on top last minute. Kinda reminded me of Red Lobster biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Simple and delicious! I recommend using red onion for flavor. Used almost double cheese, too, and the texture was still great. I'll double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very good recipe. I added a couple of pressed cloves of garlic to the onion before cooking it. And it stands up well to the addition of some roasted, peeled red chiles. This bread is good as it is but adding other things does not detract from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverta, California, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is one of the staple bread recipes in our family. Easy to make...completely delicious, we all look forward to the once a week I make it. The only change I made is to turn it into biscuits instead of bread. Other than that, I've used it so many ways... Shallots and gouda instead of cheddar and onion. Add bacon or sausage. ANYTHING. It always works and is always incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a nice quick bread. I added a little garlic powder as others did & I needed a couple extra tablespoons of milk as it seemed a little dry. I baked it in a loaf pan & it sliced really well. I think this recipe would also make good drop biscuits. Thanks for sharing:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This bread is in my mouth as I type this. It's soo good. The only change I made is that I used 3 stalks of diced scallions instead of the sauteed onions because, well, I was just too lazy to chop and saute. Oh, and I used more cheese too. Thank you! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by how good these were! I added an extra tsp of baking powder, and also some garlic powder and Italian seasoning. I found I needed an extra tsp or so of butter to make the flour uniformly crumbly and an extra splash of milk to help the dough come together. Instead of a loaf, I made simple drop biscuits by dropping a spoonful of dough onto greased cookie sheets. I forgot the cheese that goes on top and they were still fabulous! They outshined the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CornflakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States