Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This bread was really good! I made it in one of my nonstick cake pans, so I didn't need to grease it. Also, I added some garlic, and a little bit more baking powder, so it was really fluffy. I served it with a beef pot pie and we loved it. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Simple and delicious! I recommend using red onion for flavor. Used almost double cheese, too, and the texture was still great. I'll double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Delicious. The texture was a bit different from other breads - almost cakelike (probably due to the egg). It was quite moist. Followed directions, except that I topped with mozzarella instead of cheddar because I only had one bag of cheddar defrosted. I also used 1/4c yellow onion and 1/4c red. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a nice quick bread. I added a little garlic powder as others did & I needed a couple extra tablespoons of milk as it seemed a little dry. I baked it in a loaf pan & it sliced really well. I think this recipe would also make good drop biscuits. Thanks for sharing:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this today and it was excellent! I mostly followed the recipe, but I doubled the amount of onion and added a Tbsp of onion powder to deepen the oniony flavor. I also added about 1/3 cup minced parsley to round out the flavors. I made it with white cheddar cheese and it was lovely. Those who said it was dry may have over baked it. I used a 9" square pan and it was perfect in just 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Not what I'd call savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Per other reviews, I added a dash of garlic powder and a dash of Italian seasoning to the batter. The bread smelled great but I'm not sure how we liked it as a loaf. I think these could possibly make great biscuits, which is what I think I'll make them into if I try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Although I did add more onion and cheddar than called for with the additions of my usual standby's (garlic and onion powders) we all found this bread to be quite good. I could see how this would also be wonderful as either muffins or rolls. I loved the fact that I could make a tastey quick bread that didn't entail the usual hours I spend on making traditional breads. Carol, my family thanks you for this delicious and easy bread that they dunked into their soup to get up every last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Very popular item! I think that it could use a bit more cheese in the bread. It could also use a kick with some added garlic and other herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Great recipe with lots of room for variations, but definitely too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States