Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because it was SOOO easy and had lots of flavor. Next time will add even more garlic powder - I simply sprinkled some on top last minute. Kinda reminded me of Red Lobster biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good, I served it with ham. Was a bit dry but made great sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyle, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Pretty good - I was looking for a yeast free bread simply because I didn't have any yeast in the house. I didn't add the onion, but i used a bit of onion powder and garlic. The bread was really dense and almost tasted like a biscuit. It was actually quite salty, probably because of the mixture of cheese and salt. I made it with chicken noodle soup, and I'll definitely make it again, but I'll omit the teaspoon of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by how good these were! I added an extra tsp of baking powder, and also some garlic powder and Italian seasoning. I found I needed an extra tsp or so of butter to make the flour uniformly crumbly and an extra splash of milk to help the dough come together. Instead of a loaf, I made simple drop biscuits by dropping a spoonful of dough onto greased cookie sheets. I forgot the cheese that goes on top and they were still fabulous! They outshined the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CornflakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
My husband & I enjoyed the recipe. It was very rich though, so just make sure that what you are having it with can balance out the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DashNrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Photo by crazy9irl
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was really good it I think it needed some Onion powder or Salt and more onion it wasn't that strong of an onion flavor..I will for sure be trying this one again. Thank you for sharing this easy quick recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy9irl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this bread with a gluten-free flour mix, with no other changes to the recipe, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thomas, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I kept to the recipe, only added a bit of garlic powder and using pepperjack cheese in place of the cheddar. (I wanted to use what I had on hand without opening a new cheese.) I also used buttermilk, as I was looking at losing what I had if I didn't use it somehow. Did anyone else have an issue with the dough being dry. I added a little more buttermilk and then got frustrated and added and egg. Seems to look alright, I'm sure it will taste fine. I did my best to not overwork the dough but it was a challenge with how dry the dough was without the egg and added buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This bread is in my mouth as I type this. It's soo good. The only change I made is that I used 3 stalks of diced scallions instead of the sauteed onions because, well, I was just too lazy to chop and saute. Oh, and I used more cheese too. Thank you! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a nice quick bread. I added a little garlic powder as others did & I needed a couple extra tablespoons of milk as it seemed a little dry. I baked it in a loaf pan & it sliced really well. I think this recipe would also make good drop biscuits. Thanks for sharing:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States