Savory Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wow--this is so good! I was looking for something I could make with what I had in my kitchen, which wasn't much! I made it as is with yellow onion and the kids and I loved it! I bet it would also be good with sliced olives, spicy sausage, and/or jalapenos mixed in, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Really easy to make - i added bacon, thyme and rosemary for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent and easy. Made it to have with clam chowder. I added thyme and savory. Next time I will add some onion powder and garlic powder for a variation. Will definitely make to have with salads and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty and easy. Would be very easy to try different cheeses, add different herbs/spices etc. Will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this to go with a spicy Isreali Couscous and chicken soup. I cooked it in a 9" round pan because that is all I had. I would cut the salt IN HALF. This has to be the saltiest bread I have ever eaten! 1 teaspoon is wayyy to much for 1.5 cups of flour in my opinion. The more carmelized the onions the richer the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Recipe !!!!! I loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this today and it was excellent! I mostly followed the recipe, but I doubled the amount of onion and added a Tbsp of onion powder to deepen the oniony flavor. I also added about 1/3 cup minced parsley to round out the flavors. I made it with white cheddar cheese and it was lovely. Those who said it was dry may have over baked it. I used a 9" square pan and it was perfect in just 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because it was SOOO easy and had lots of flavor. Next time will add even more garlic powder - I simply sprinkled some on top last minute. Kinda reminded me of Red Lobster biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good, I served it with ham. Was a bit dry but made great sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyle, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Pretty good - I was looking for a yeast free bread simply because I didn't have any yeast in the house. I didn't add the onion, but i used a bit of onion powder and garlic. The bread was really dense and almost tasted like a biscuit. It was actually quite salty, probably because of the mixture of cheese and salt. I made it with chicken noodle soup, and I'll definitely make it again, but I'll omit the teaspoon of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States