Savory Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Loved this soup. I didn't change anything. Everyone I have served it to has told me they enjoyed it very much. Goes great a long with salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellb518
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
A Fresher/Healthier Option (I made up on the fly): I used the 98% Fat Free Mushroom Soup. I subbed fresh asapargus (coursely chopped) for the frozen peas. I sauteed fresh sliced baby Bella mushrooms, yellow onion, and the asparagus. I try to keep my butter intake light, so cut back on some of the butter & added some olive oil to make up the difference for the sautee. I added herbs to the sautee mix (garlic salt, garlic powder, a pinch of dill, a dash of black pepper, and some freshly chopped parsley). Instead of Sour Cream, I used Laughing Cow Light Swiss wedges (Qty 3). It turned out great, and my skeptical boyfriend was singing praises once he actually tried it. Definitely making this again! I loved how thick the soup turned out too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
my family loved this soup. i added chopped carrots and frech white mushrooms, the soup was great thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is a surprisingly good shortcut to enhancing a can of cream of mushroom soup. The results were very good and I thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
amazing! a simple, quick recipe that is absolutely fabulous! the sour cream gives a great flavor! i also added celery and mushrooms to add to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
OMG! This is a favorite new recipe! Had last minute guests & had to raid the fridge and pantry. Used sweet onion, chopped celery, a container of sliced brown mushrooms. Before I chopped the above ingredients and then sauteed, I chopped 6 small red and purple potatoes,added evoo, tarragon, a sea salt herb blend and then oven roasted for about a half hour. Then I blended all the veggies and potato together, added the soup (3 cans & 3 cups milk)sour cream and peas. EVERYONE went WILD over this !! Didn't share my secret since the unexpected guests are food snobs. Served w/ a spinach salad. Have also made it since, omitted the potato and served over brown rice or herb and wild rice---in this instance, used a little less milk, instead of soup it's a savory sauce. Thanks Lois for a fabulous recipe, I would NEVER had tried this w/ canned soup before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I sauteed up some fresh mushrooms and added those, also some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodbine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
good, milk can be substituted with water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Still tasted like condensed soup to me... but the onions and peas did give it a lift. I used "Roasted Garlic" flavor condensed mushroom soup, as it was what I had on hand. Found it too plain via the recipe, so added a pinch of cayenne pepper and a few twists of fresh black pepper as well. A friend liked it, but she's dieting and cheated by trying... If you like/are used to canned condensed soup, you will like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States