Savory Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was a great sauce, but I *would not* use it for pasta. I used it with mashed potatoes and fried tofo sticks and it was just right. The consistency wouldn't be what you're looking for with a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I agree with those of the reviewers that found the sauce a bit bland - however, I added the recommended garlic powder, some seasoning salt, about a tbsp of soy sauce and the taste was dramatically improved. I served the gravy over buttermilk biscuits for a vegetarian version of the classic sausage gravy and biscuits breakfast and my boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
i liked this recipe. I used fat free half and half instead of milk and I added some majoram and season salt (initially instead of regular salt). I tasted it as it was simmering and noted that it did taste "floury" as another user stated so I added some kosher salt in addition and it turned out great! I put it on steak and it was really good - I wouldn't recommend it for anything like pasta it is too "gravyish" for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
the taste is not too strong so you might want to add more of the herbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Okay,after reading the little reviews that this recipe received,I was hesitant about making it.But,I decided to give it a go,following the recipe and adding more garlic salt for flavor.I even added another clove of chopped garlic,but unfortunately it didn't help.It was thick and pasty and would have been good over chicken fried steak? instead of linguine like I served it.I don't think I'll be making this again...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
So easy to make!!I made this sauce tonight for over meatloaf and boiled potatoes. It was really good, except I felt that the basil flavour was a little too strong, I think I will cut it in half next time. My husband loved the sauce. I also made one modification, substituting beef stock for the milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Tastes like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I made this recipe and loved it! The flavor is great! I tried it over steak and with angel hair pasta, it was wonderful both ways. This has quickly become my favorite mushroom sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States