Savory Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very bland and tasteless. Not good for pasta without adding some additional ingredients. I added some asiago cheese, basil and thyme. Best for heavier types of pasta or ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Donato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
All in all this is a good base for a sauce but I added some Thyme for extra flavor as well as a dollop of sour cream for extra creaminess. Oh I also added a touch of garlic powder as suggested by other readers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I liked this a lot. I used poultry seasoning cause that what I had. Very good over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Made this to serve over meatloaf last week and felt it needed a lot more seasonings. Once I got it to my liking, it was enjoyed by everyone. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I really loved this recipe. I ended up not being the only one loving it too. My two year old son is a picky eater. After eating this he liced his lips and said "more". I altered the recipe a bit. I put my season all salt, as well as the regular salt it called for, garlic powder, and a little more minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was a bit thick for angel hair. double or triple the recipe for a full box of angel hair. add more milk for creaminess. I think linguine would be a better pasta for it. otherwise, nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I wanted to surprise the wife with something new and different, and this did it! Thanks for the great recipe. My alterations - used 3 cloves of garlic and 1 tablespoon of Basil, due to the "bland" comments. It came out pretty good! My wife had it over chicken, and I decided to try pasta. I think both dishes were a success, though I had to thin the sauce with some milk to make the pasta work - if you do that, I think you have a good pasta topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This sauce was ok. It was a bit thick for pasta it would be better as a gravey. It was a bit bland so I upped all the spices and it turned out pretty good. ***** I have since made this several times. I think the trick is to slowly add the flour untill you get a nice roux. If you add all of it it will be too thick and grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I thought the texture and flavor of theis sauce was terrible. My byfriend liked it so I guess I'm just picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This sauce was kind of bland. Also, I made the mistake of dumping in the flour all at once, which then clumped up. Not a smart thing to do. I would spice this recipe up...it is a good base for a sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States