Savory Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Delicious! I halved the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This was delicious! I'm a terrible cook living in an area with scarce access to obscure ingredients, so this recipe was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was a good recipe. I made it with Pork Meatballs from this site, and served over cooked pasta. I would add a little more spice next time. It was just a little bland, but fixable. I will be making this again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We are on a non-dairy diet, and this recipe is easily adaptable to that (rice milk). I served it over pasta as a non-dairy alfredo substitute idea, and it was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe was pretty bland. It's a homemade version of cream of mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I found this recipe bland like many other reviewers, so I followed their advice and added soy sauce and marjoram and it turned out great! I served it over chicken and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
As others have said, this is a very good base recipe! Mine turned out good after tweaking it a little. I did about 5 TBSP of butter because I doubled the mushrooms, added 1 extra clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 1/2 tsp. season salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp basil, and the stated amount of onion. I subsituted 1 cup of half and half and 1 cup of chicken stock for the milk. I served on top of steak and red potatoes. The taste turned out great, the only downside was it was too thick. I only used 2 TBSP of flour, but the sauce still turned out like a thick gravy. Next time I won't add any flour at all. Thanks for this recipe and thanks to all those who gave their suggestions as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
it was good i added about a ts of ms dash garlic and herd much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The taste was kinda bland, so I added some lemon juice and chili powder which really added a bit more kick to the taste. This also turned out a bit thicker than I usually like my pasta sauces, but it would be perfect to serve with chicken or beef and I think it might be better used as a gravy than a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this sauce last night on top of rice with barbecued steaks. It was a extremely simple recipe and turned out really well. I didn't measure anything... just added however much I thought would work, and I added some green onions. The taste was absolutely delicious, but personally there was something I did not like about the texture. Though, it practically melts in your mouth! Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynneKalle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States