Savory Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I happened to be out of bread crumbs and didn't have enough day old bread to make my own--I used an equal amount crushed Texas Toast garlic butter croutons. I did add a couple spices to the meat loaf (garlic powder, onion powder, homemade italian seasoning) but other than that, I kept to the recipe. I baked this in my Perfect Meatloaf Pan--an hour was spot on. This was a decent meat loaf, helped along with spices. It held together well. I'd make it again in a pinch. This was really helpful for me to use on hand ingredients when money is tight. NOTE: To help with the "mushy meat loaf" issue, I like to make the meat loaf as far in advance before baking it as I can. At least a couple hours. For me, that seems to make the loaf more........loafy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Unfortunately this meatloaf turned out too mushy for our taste. It didn't have much flavor and I was wondering if salt was forgotten in the recipe as it certainly could have used it. At any rate, I think that it would have had a more pleasing texture if half of the soup called for was added to the loaf instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out very good. Easy to put together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Poisson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westcliffe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
We really loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Roach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Didn't care for this meat loaf at all. So sloppy I couldn't even get it out of the pan in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was an easy recipe with items I had on hand. We use cheese on everything so I added shredded cheese to the mix which gave the meatloaf more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was just not to our liking. We found it to be a little mushy. Perhaps seasoned bread crumbs would have given it more flavor. Through the years I had always used Campbell's tomato soup on top of my meatloaf so I really thought we would enjoy this recipe. I will continue to use it, just not inside the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
It turned out good. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious and so easy to prepare! I was out of worchestershire so mine was a tiny bit bland but the recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My fiancee said this is a "make it again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States