Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good soup! I used potatoes, onion, carrots and pepper from our garden. I added a can of diced tomatoes instead of the wine, and threw in some corn for color interest. DH (who loves everything creamy) even thought it was delicious. And it is very healthy! Can't wait to have it again tomorrow. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Had guests over tonite and they left with the recipe. I added crushed red pepper flakes b/c I didn't have the chile and they sd it was just the right amount of spice. Only had 2 potatoes and doubled the broth amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Delicious! Other than doubling the recipe, I omitted the chile pepper (since this is for a 2 yr old too), added a little sausage, and some sea salt, since I used homemade unsalted chicken broth. I reserved half of the garlic and added at the very end, to get the most of its amazing health properties. I used Pinot Grigio wine (I keep the mini 4-pks around for cooking) and it gives the soup a new dimension. Oh, and I put about 75% of the soup in a blender, and then mixed them together to give this a creamy bean-potato base. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Delicious! Kosher salt and dried basil to taste, 1 can diced tomatoes, 2 cans broth, and 1 cup water instead of 2. I didn't have a red pepper, but I had to make this, so I used a few dashes of hot sauce and cayenne. This is the only kale soup recipe on this site that I found with wine in it. It makes a big difference. Otherwise, it's much closer to chicken soup. First thing, before sauteeing the onion, I crisped up some canadian bacon to add flavor. For the kale, I used one bunch, chiffonaded/julienned very thin and let the whole pot set overnight. The soup was transformed. I highly recommend it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm the first reviewer to make this recipe exactly as written, and it is delicious. I'm sure the additions noted would also be good, but as-is, this is a hearty, healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made two changes to this recipe. One, I added chopped summer sausage during the 'saute onion' stage, and two, I left out the cannelinni beans (the SO doesn't like them). It came out very, very good, and reheats very well for a tasty and simple lunch! My favorite potato and kale soup recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmeadville

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Added polish sausage with the onions. Thought it was a great, comforting, hardy, tastey soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Added summer sausage when cooking the onions, this is a great hardy soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Going to make this in just a couple days. I agree with another reviewer it is obvious that the meat was forgotten when this recipe was submitted. Looks like it has ground beef in it. I will make it with ground turkey or chicken. It looks yummy and I can't wait to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good recipe! Thank you. I make a soup similar to this using 1/2 lb. Italian sausage or 1/4 lb. chopped pancetta. I use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of wine since the soup is good without it. A 1/2 cup of chopped celery is a good addition; I do not use the chile pepper. Spinach can be used instead of kale, as noted by another reviewer. If you want a thicker soup, mash a few beans against the side of the pot and stir before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States