Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm the first reviewer to make this recipe exactly as written, and it is delicious. I'm sure the additions noted would also be good, but as-is, this is a hearty, healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good soup! I used potatoes, onion, carrots and pepper from our garden. I added a can of diced tomatoes instead of the wine, and threw in some corn for color interest. DH (who loves everything creamy) even thought it was delicious. And it is very healthy! Can't wait to have it again tomorrow. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Delicious! Kosher salt and dried basil to taste, 1 can diced tomatoes, 2 cans broth, and 1 cup water instead of 2. I didn't have a red pepper, but I had to make this, so I used a few dashes of hot sauce and cayenne. This is the only kale soup recipe on this site that I found with wine in it. It makes a big difference. Otherwise, it's much closer to chicken soup. First thing, before sauteeing the onion, I crisped up some canadian bacon to add flavor. For the kale, I used one bunch, chiffonaded/julienned very thin and let the whole pot set overnight. The soup was transformed. I highly recommend it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great Soup! But I'm giving it 4 stars because the recipe timing should be flipped -- the kale needs to cook longer than 20 min and should be put in before the potatoes and beans or they become mushy and overcooked. (I used canned beans.) Just flip the last two instructions and make a great hearty soup. I also added a little parmesan cheese to each bowl before serving and also added beef kelbasa (sp?) when I added the beans and potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I used more carrots and kale than it called for (doubled), as I like a hearty soup and used veggie broth instead of chicken to make it vegetarian. It was really, really good! DO NOT SKIMP on the wine - it absolutely makes the flavor of the soup! Thanks for this tasty recipe - will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Delicious! Other than doubling the recipe, I omitted the chile pepper (since this is for a 2 yr old too), added a little sausage, and some sea salt, since I used homemade unsalted chicken broth. I reserved half of the garlic and added at the very end, to get the most of its amazing health properties. I used Pinot Grigio wine (I keep the mini 4-pks around for cooking) and it gives the soup a new dimension. Oh, and I put about 75% of the soup in a blender, and then mixed them together to give this a creamy bean-potato base. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made some changes, mostly because I didn't have everything in the kitchen. Subbed garbanzo beans for the white beans, which ended up giving some nice texture. I had parsnips (yum!) instead of carrots, so I added a can of tomatoes for the color. And because tomatoes make everything tasty. Subbed a bay leaf because my sage plant died. :( Didn't have chicken broth so instead I used water with a couple tablespoons of soy sauce and a dash of Worcestershire. Kept the wine in and I'm so glad - it added a nice depth and sharpness to the soup. This cooked up quickly and was a beautiful and delicious soup for a chilly, rainy winter evening. Nice and forgiving recipe - one to keep and play around with depending on what's in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was great soup...I followed recipe exactly, but added a little more kale than it called for, and also sauteed one link of turkey kielbasa sausage with the onion. This was the perfect compliment to an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Had guests over tonite and they left with the recipe. I added crushed red pepper flakes b/c I didn't have the chile and they sd it was just the right amount of spice. Only had 2 potatoes and doubled the broth amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe!! The flavors were amazing. The only thing that I will change next time is that I may put the potatos in in the last 20 minutes so that they keep some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKYWOOWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States